November 30, 1994 3 min read

In the Schools

Sherman Jones, provost, Clark University, Atlanta, Ga., to headmaster, Southern Normal School, Brewton, Ala.

In the Districts

David A. Aponik, deputy superintendent, Burbank (Calif.) Unified School District, to superintendent.

Yvonne Gonzalez, associate superintendent, Houston (Tex.) Independent School District, to superintendent, Santa Fe (N.M.) Public Schools.

Jack McLaughlin, superintendent, Hemet Unified School District, Riverside, Calif., to superindent, Berkeley (Calif.) Unified School District.

Albert Monillas, superintendent, Upper Township (N.J.) School District, to superintendent, Maurice River (N.J.) School District.

Arthur N. Pierce, superintendent, Burbank (Calif.) Unified School District, to superintendent, Maine School Administrative District #4, Belfast, Me.

Melindo A. Persi, superintendent, Elmwood Park (N.J.) School District, to superintendent, Edison (N.J.) School District.

Jeffrey B. Streitman, assistant superintendent for personnel and administration, Syosset (N.Y.) Central School District, to deputy superintendent.

In the Associations

Maud Dahme, member, New Jersey State Board of Education, to president, National Association of State Boards of Education.

Carolyn Jefferson, principal, Taylor Academy, University Heights, Ohio, to board of directors, National League of Women Voters, Washington, D.C.

Arlene E. Lawson, manager, corporate recruiting and upward mobility, Mobil Corporation, Fairfax, Va. to member, business/education council, Conference Board, New York City.

Elizabeth Noyes, director, American Academy of Pediatrics, Washington, D.C., to associate executive director, American Academy of Pediatrics, Elk Grove Village, Ill.

The American Association of School Administrators, Arlington, Va., has announced the selection of its president and two executive-committee members. They are: Donald Thompson (president), superintendent, Montgomery County Public Schools, Dayton, Ohio; Joseph Cirasuolo (executive committee), superintendent, Wallingford (Conn.) Public Schools; and Joan Kowal (executive committee), superintendent, Volusia County Schools, Deland, Fla.

The Council for Basic Education, Washington, D.C. has announced the election of three new members to its Board of Directors. They are: Raydean Acevedo, president and chief executive officer, RMCI, Denver, Colo., and Mclean, Va.; Albert H. Quie, former Governor of Minnesota; and Janice Weinman, executive vice president for programs, The College Board.

Other Appointments

Rosanne K. Bacon, president, Massachusetts Teachers Association, to executive director, National Center for Precollegiate Recruitment, Belmont, Mass.

Patricia Lewis Dulac, Office of Higher Education, East Greenwich, R.I., to mathematics specialist for the Regional Alliance for Mathematics and Science Education Reform, the Regional Laboratory, Andover, Mass.

Regina Lee, director, Massuchusetts Office for Refugees and Immigrants, Boston, Mass., to deputy director, Office of Refugee Resettlement in the Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Health and Human Services Department, Washington, D.C.

Wally Papciak, senior vice president of sales and business development, Computer Intelligence InfoCorp, La Jolla, Calif., to president and chief executive director, Quality Education Data Inc., Denver, Colo.

Elizabeth M. Smith, doctoral student, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, N.J., to board member, Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education, Washington, D.C.

The First of America Bank and Partners in Education, Decatur, Ill., have announced four new members of the First Grants Advisory Board. The new appointees, all from Decatur, are: Janna Lutovsky, Richland Community College; Elmer McPherson, Decatur Public Schools; Danny Tang, A.E. Staley Manufacturing Company; and Tim Willard, Millikin University.

A version of this article appeared in the November 30, 1994 edition of Education Week as Appointments