Updated Map: Which States Have Adopted the Next Generation Science Standards?

By Liana Loewus — August 31, 2015 1 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

Tracking state adoptions of the Next Generation Science Standards can be trickier than you might think. Achieve, the group that led the development of the common science standards, doesn’t keep a map on its website. There isn’t one on the official Next Generation Science Standards site either. And some states have been quiet about their adoption decisions, likely to avoid drumming up the kind of controversy that’s characterized the Common Core State Standards.

So we’ve updated our own map to keep you in the know:

The resource you are looking for could not be found.

As of the publishing of this blog post, 15 states and the District of Columbia have adopted the common science standards (though the map above will update as that changes). In addition to keeping up on official adoptions, I’ll be doing my best to recognize the states that adopt near-replicas—such as South Dakota, shown in orange on the map. The Mt. Rushmore State adopted science standards with nearly identical organization, wording, and content, but some modifications around climate change.

As always, please do let me know if you hear of something I’ve missed.

A version of this news article first appeared in the Curriculum Matters blog.