Standards for Professional-Development Schools

October 24, 2001 1 min read

The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education released standards last week, condensed below.

Standard I: Learning Community
Partners include the university, school district, teacher union(s), or other professional education association(s), and may extend to arts and science faculty, other interested school and university faculty, family and community members, and other affiliated schools. They also ensure that all stakeholders collaborate to create a vision and implement it with the ultimate goal of integrating the learning and development of P-12 [preschool through 12th grade] students, prospective educators, and PDS partners through inquiry-based practice.

Standard II: Accountability and Quality Assurance
Partners collaboratively develop assessments, collect information, and use results to systematically examine their practices and establish outcome goals for all P-12 students, candidates, faculty, and other professionals. The program demonstrates impact at the local, state, and national level on policies and practices affecting its work.

Standard III: Collaboration
Partners collaborate to design roles and structures to support the PDS efforts and utilize them to improve outcomes for P-12 students, candidates, faculty, and other professionals.

Standard IV: Diversity and Equity
Programs include diverse participants and diverse learning communities and result in learning for all.

Standard V: Structures, Resources, and Roles
Partners use their authority and resources to develop a mission and establish a governing structure that support the learning and development of all involved.