Opinion
Education Opinion

The Blog Is Ending, But Deeper-Learning Work Goes On

By Robert Rothman — January 08, 2019 2 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

This post is by Robert Rothman and Jal Mehta

When we began the Learning Deeply blog in February 2014, we stated that the goal was not to argue the case for deeper learning but rather to “discuss what it looks like at the practice and policy levels and to challenge one another’s thinking about instructional change.” More than 500 posts later, we believe we have more than accomplished this goal. As we retire this blog, we are confident that the thinking about how to deepen students’ learning has advanced considerably in the past five years.

During this time, we have presented the views of students, teachers, and school leaders, as well as professional developers, reform supporters, researchers, and policymakers. As we expected—and hoped would happen—the contributors did not always agree with one another. We did not intend to present an orthodoxy, and we believe we have succeeded.

In fact, some of our most widely viewed posts have challenged conventional wisdom. The most-viewed, with more than 26,000 page views, was Ron Berger’s post that questioned one of the most venerable concepts in educational psychology—Bloom’s taxonomy. Another was one of Jal’s that pointed out an uncomfortable truth about the deeper-learning movement itself: Its race problem. That post has been viewed just about every month since it was originally written in June 2014.

To us, these challenges are signs of a healthy movement. And indeed, as we look over the landscape, we see many positive signs. The research base for deeper learning is stronger, and deeper learning is beginning to be embedded in state policy. And as we have seen on the blog, other countries are taking up the mantle as well.

Yet national and international assessments continue to show that too few students are able to demonstrate that they can use their knowledge to think critically, communicate effectively, and collaborate with peers. And, disturbingly, there are wide racial and ethnic gaps in learning. Equity, the reason many of our contributors have committed themselves to pursuing paths to deeper learning, remains elusive.

There are many reasons why deeper learning has not yet been implemented on a large scale. Jal pointed out some of them in his most recent post. Deep, meaningful change in education, particularly change that affects what Richard F. Elmore calls the “instructional core,” is very, very difficult.

We remain optimistic. The need for all students to learn deeply has only increased since we started this blog, and it will not go away. And there are many more ideas about practical steps that teachers, schools, districts, and states can take to bring about the changes that are necessary. We are proud to have contributed to that literature through this blog.

We want to thank each and every contributor to Learning Deeply. And we are happy to report that their work will live on: All the posts will be archived, so that they will continue to show up on Google searches and by other means. We hope that the authors will continue to find additional outlets for their ideas.

We particularly want to thank the readers of this blog. We hope that the ideas we presented stimulated your thoughts and helped you advance your own work. We hope to meet you again on this journey.

The opinions expressed in Learning Deeply are strictly those of the author(s) and do not reflect the opinions or endorsement of Editorial Projects in Education, or any of its publications.


Commenting has been disabled on edweek.org effective Sept. 8. Please visit our FAQ section for more details. To get in touch with us visit our contact page, follow us on social media, or submit a Letter to the Editor.


Events

This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Teaching Webinar
6 Key Trends in Teaching and Learning
As we enter the third school year affected by the pandemic—and a return to the classroom for many—we come better prepared, but questions remain. How will the last year impact teaching and learning this school
Content provided by Instructure
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
School & District Management Webinar
Ensuring Continuity of Learning: How to Prepare for the Next Disruption
Across the country, K-12 schools and districts are, again, considering how to ensure effective continuity of learning in the face of emerging COVID variants, politicized debates, and more. Learn from Alexandria City Public Schools superintendent
Content provided by Class
Teaching Profession Live Online Discussion What Have We Learned From Teachers During the Pandemic?
University of California, Santa Cruz, researcher Lora Bartlett and her colleagues spent months studying how the pandemic affected classroom teachers. We will discuss the takeaways from her research not only for teachers, but also for

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

Education Schools Get the Brunt of Latest COVID Wave in South Carolina
In the past few weeks, South Carolina has set records for COVID-19 hospitalizations and new cases have approached peak levels of last winter.
4 min read
Two Camden Elementary School students in masks listen as South Carolina Gov. Henry McMaster talks about steps the school is taking to fight COVID-19, Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2021, in Camden, S.C. McMaster has adamantly and repeatedly come out against requiring masks in schools even as the average number of daily COVID-19 cases in the state has risen since early June. (AP Photo/Jeffrey Collins)
Education More States Are Requiring Schools to Teach Native American History and Culture
Advocates say their efforts have gained some momentum with the nation’s reckoning over racial injustice since the killing of George Floyd.
3 min read
A dancer participates in an intertribal dance at Schemitzun on the Mashantucket Pequot Reservation in Mashantucket, Conn., Saturday, Aug. 28, 2021. Connecticut and a handful of other states have recently decided to mandate students be taught about Native American culture and history. (AP Photo/Jessica Hill)
Education Judge's Temporary Order Allows Iowa Schools to Mandate Masks
A federal judge ordered the state to immediately halt enforcement of a law that prevents school boards from ordering masks to be worn.
4 min read
Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds speaks to reporters following a news conference, Thursday, Aug. 19, 2021, in West Des Moines, Iowa. Reynolds lashed out at President Joe Biden Thursday after he ordered his education secretary to explore possible legal action against states that have blocked school mask mandates and other public health measures meant to protect students against COVID-19. Reynolds, a Republican, has signed a bill into law that prohibits school officials from requiring masks, raising concerns as delta variant virus cases climb across the state and schools resume classes soon. (AP Photo/Charlie Neibergall)
Education Hurricane Ida Deals New Blow to Louisiana Schools Struggling to Reopen
The opening of the school year offered teachers a chance to fully assess the pandemic's effects, only to have students forced out again.
8 min read
Six-year-old Mary-Louise Lacobon sits on a fallen tree beside the remnants of her family's home destroyed by Hurricane Ida, in Dulac, La., on Sept. 4, 2021. Louisiana students, who were back in class after a year and a half of COVID-19 disruptions kept many of them at home, are now missing school again after Hurricane Ida. A quarter-million public school students statewide have no school to report to, though top educators are promising a return is, at most, weeks away, not months.
Six-year-old Mary-Louise Lacobon sits on a fallen tree beside the remnants of her family's home destroyed by Hurricane Ida, in Dulac, La., on Sept. 4, 2021.
John Locher/AP