Opinion
Education Opinion

Tacoma School District’s Journey: The Apology to Mr. Gaylord

By Jill Berkowicz & Ann Myers — August 17, 2014 5 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

Our guest blogger is Mr. Kurt Miller, the President of the Tacoma School District Board of Education who offered Mr. Gaylord an apology for his being fired 4 decades earlier. While conducting research for our #tbt entitled Fired for Being Gay we wondered about the process taken by the Board of Education and the Tacoma School District resulting in the acknowledgment that firing Mr. Gaylord was unjust and deserved a public apology. Here, Mr. Miller explains the steps taken.

Around Thanksgiving, 42 years ago, the assistant principal from Wilson High School walked up the steps to a front porch and knocked on Jim Gaylord’s door to ask him a question that would change his life forever. Jim was asked if he was gay. After a slight hesitation he answered yes.

In 1972, Mr. Jim Gaylord was fired from his position as a history teacher at Wilson High School. More than 12 years of service for the school and excellent evaluations were not enough to keep his job. His only offense was being gay at a time when being so was viewed as immoral. After the Washington State Supreme Court upheld the firing the U.S. Supreme Court refused to hear his appeal. While the 1972 decision to terminate Mr. Gaylord was within the bounds of the laws as they existed at the time, it does not reflect the values and morals of the District now or the values of Tacoma.

Forty-two years later an apology was made to Mr. Gaylord with the request coming from an unlikely source. In early July 2014, I was attending the Bridge Builder meeting at the Oasis Youth Center, an organization that serves LGBTQ young people. Just before the meeting Seth Kirby the Director of Oasis, started telling me about the “Conversation” that some young people were going to do during the Proud Outloud celebration in a week and a half. Several gay and lesbian adults were interviewed and their stories would be shared with an audience at Stadium High School. One of the students interviewed Mr. Gaylord and after hearing his story and asked Seth if it was possible if the school district could offer an apology for what Mr. Gaylord experienced. That led to Seth asking me if the school district could apologize.

While a teacher at Wilson High School many of Jim’s fellow teachers were not aware of his sexual orientation. He kept his private life separate from his school life. One day a young man who attended Wilson H.S. approached him to discuss the his (the student’s) attraction to other boys. Jim spoke with the boy and saw no need to share his own orientation with the student.

The student subsequently attemtped suicide. During the investigation the student told the police that he had spoken to Mr. Gaylord and shared their conversation. That is what precipitated the visit by the assistant principal. On November 21st, Jim received a letter from the school board that read, in part:

The specific probable cause for your discharge is that you have admitted occupying a public status that is incompatible with the conduct required of teachers in this district. Specifically, that you have admitted being a publicly known homosexual.

When I heard his story I was appalled and told Seth that there should be an apology but I needed to check with others before I could make that decision. Because it was summer and many people were on vacation I sent an email to Superintendent Carla Santorno asking about what would need to be done to make an apology and whether the district was liable for something that happened so long ago. By the end of the day I received the answer I wanted to hear. When I received the response I told Seth that not only could we offer an apology, we would the following Sunday.

The Board did not have any meetings scheduled until after the Sunday event. Because of that I contacted the individual members and asked if they had any concerns about the apology and the response was what I expected. They were very supportive of the apology. All but two of them, out of a total of five who sit on the board, said they were available that day and asked if we could stand side by side together on the stage while I gave the apology.

At the July 24th meeting the board passed a resolution affirming the apology made to Mr. Gaylord. One of our directors had actually been a student of Mr. Gaylord’s when she was a senior at the school. She was asked to read the resolution at the meeting, thereby completing a loop that had been left open for so long.

Our values were affirmed most recently, before we became aware of the story about Mr. Gaylord. The School Board passed a revised Student Nondiscrimination and Equity Policy at the June 26th, meeting, which states in part:

The Tacoma School District affirms the inherent dignity and the equal rights of every student. It acknowledges the need to provide for every student a quality education that includes appreciation and respect for human individuality, cultural differences, and similarities that contribute to our democratic nation as a whole. Every student deserves a respectful learning environment in which their racial, ethnic, religious, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, or disability diversity is valued and contributes to successful academic outcomes. Learning and work environments are enriched and improved by the contributions, perspectives and presence of diverse participants. The district is committed to the success of every student in each of our schools.

As the district addresses academic excellence, partnership and safety within our strategic goals for all students, we continue to support LGBTQ students and staff. The District has developed a great relationship with OASIS and works collaboratively to educate, learn and grow together to support students. Currently there are 7 High Schools with Gay Straight Alliance Clubs and a few middle schools are beginning their own clubs as well.

Forty-two years later, we cannot make up for the mistakes of an unfortunate past, but we can at least acknowledge them and let those affected know that regret doesn’t end when the old guard moves on.

The opinions expressed in Leadership 360 are strictly those of the author(s) and do not reflect the opinions or endorsement of Editorial Projects in Education, or any of its publications.


Commenting has been disabled on edweek.org effective Sept. 8. Please visit our FAQ section for more details. To get in touch with us visit our contact page, follow us on social media, or submit a Letter to the Editor.


Events

This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Teaching Webinar
6 Key Trends in Teaching and Learning
As we enter the third school year affected by the pandemic—and a return to the classroom for many—we come better prepared, but questions remain. How will the last year impact teaching and learning this school
Content provided by Instructure
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
School & District Management Webinar
Ensuring Continuity of Learning: How to Prepare for the Next Disruption
Across the country, K-12 schools and districts are, again, considering how to ensure effective continuity of learning in the face of emerging COVID variants, politicized debates, and more. Learn from Alexandria City Public Schools superintendent
Content provided by Class
Teaching Profession Live Online Discussion What Have We Learned From Teachers During the Pandemic?
University of California, Santa Cruz, researcher Lora Bartlett and her colleagues spent months studying how the pandemic affected classroom teachers. We will discuss the takeaways from her research not only for teachers, but also for

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

Education Schools Get the Brunt of Latest COVID Wave in South Carolina
In the past few weeks, South Carolina has set records for COVID-19 hospitalizations and new cases have approached peak levels of last winter.
4 min read
Two Camden Elementary School students in masks listen as South Carolina Gov. Henry McMaster talks about steps the school is taking to fight COVID-19, Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2021, in Camden, S.C. McMaster has adamantly and repeatedly come out against requiring masks in schools even as the average number of daily COVID-19 cases in the state has risen since early June. (AP Photo/Jeffrey Collins)
Education More States Are Requiring Schools to Teach Native American History and Culture
Advocates say their efforts have gained some momentum with the nation’s reckoning over racial injustice since the killing of George Floyd.
3 min read
A dancer participates in an intertribal dance at Schemitzun on the Mashantucket Pequot Reservation in Mashantucket, Conn., Saturday, Aug. 28, 2021. Connecticut and a handful of other states have recently decided to mandate students be taught about Native American culture and history. (AP Photo/Jessica Hill)
Education Judge's Temporary Order Allows Iowa Schools to Mandate Masks
A federal judge ordered the state to immediately halt enforcement of a law that prevents school boards from ordering masks to be worn.
4 min read
Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds speaks to reporters following a news conference, Thursday, Aug. 19, 2021, in West Des Moines, Iowa. Reynolds lashed out at President Joe Biden Thursday after he ordered his education secretary to explore possible legal action against states that have blocked school mask mandates and other public health measures meant to protect students against COVID-19. Reynolds, a Republican, has signed a bill into law that prohibits school officials from requiring masks, raising concerns as delta variant virus cases climb across the state and schools resume classes soon. (AP Photo/Charlie Neibergall)
Education Hurricane Ida Deals New Blow to Louisiana Schools Struggling to Reopen
The opening of the school year offered teachers a chance to fully assess the pandemic's effects, only to have students forced out again.
8 min read
Six-year-old Mary-Louise Lacobon sits on a fallen tree beside the remnants of her family's home destroyed by Hurricane Ida, in Dulac, La., on Sept. 4, 2021. Louisiana students, who were back in class after a year and a half of COVID-19 disruptions kept many of them at home, are now missing school again after Hurricane Ida. A quarter-million public school students statewide have no school to report to, though top educators are promising a return is, at most, weeks away, not months.
Six-year-old Mary-Louise Lacobon sits on a fallen tree beside the remnants of her family's home destroyed by Hurricane Ida, in Dulac, La., on Sept. 4, 2021.
John Locher/AP