Education Opinion

American Library Association Awards Announced

By Donalyn Miller — January 18, 2010 4 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

At its Annual Midwinter Meeting, the American Library Association(ALA) today announced the top books, audiobooks, and videos for children and young adults-- including the Caldecott, King, Newbery and Printz awards. Recognized worldwide for the high quality they represent, ALA awards guide parents, educators, librarians and others in selecting the best materials for youth. Selected by judging committees of librarians and other children’s experts, the awards encourage original and creative work.

Congratulations to the winners! Thank you for creating high-quality literature for my students and me to enjoy and appreciate. I cannot wait to tell my students that our current read aloud favorite, When You Reach Me, won the Newbery! I have read, enjoyed and shared many of the books on this list, and I look forward to reading those titles I have missed.

John Newbery Medal for most outstanding contribution to children’s literature:

When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead.

Newbery Honor Books:

Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose.

The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly.

Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin.

The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg by Rodman Philbrick.

Randolph Caldecott Medal for most distinguished American picture book for children:

The Lion and the Mouse illustrated and written by Jerry Pinkney.

Caldecott Honor Books:

All the World illustrated by Marla Frazee and written by Liz Garton Scanlon.

Red Sings from Treetops: A Year in Colors illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski and written by Joyce Sidman.

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults:

Going Bovine by Libba Bray.

Printz Honor Books:

Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman.

The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey.

Punkzilla by Adam Rapp.

Tales of the Madman Underground: An Historical Romance, 1973 by John Barnes.

Coretta Scott King (Author) Award recognizing an African American author of outstanding books for children and young adults:

Bad News for Outlaws: The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy U.S. Marshal by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson and illustrated by R. Gregory Christie.

Coretta Scott King (Author) Honor Book:

Mare’s War by Tanita S. Davis.

Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award recognizing an African American illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults:

My People illustrated by Charles R. Smith Jr. and written by Langston Hughes.

Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Honor Book:

The Negro Speaks of Rivers illustrated by E. B. Lewis and written by Langston Hughes

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award:

The Rock and the River by Kekla Magoon.

Coretta Scott King/ Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement:

Walter Dean Myers is the winner of this first-ever Coretta Scott King / Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement. The award pays tribute to the quality and magnitude of beloved children’s author Virginia Hamilton. Myers’ books include: Amiri & Odette: A Love Story, Fallen Angels, Monster, and Sunrise Over Fallujah.

Pura Belpre Award honoring a Latino writer and illustrator whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience:

Pura Belpre (Author) Award:

Return to Sender by Julia Alvarez.

Belpre (Author) Honor Books:

Diego: Bigger Than Life by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand and illustrated by David Diaz.

Federico Garcia Lorca by Georgina Lazaro and illustrated by Enrique S. Moreiro.

Pura Belpre (Illustrator) Award:

Book Fiesta!: Celebrate Children’s Day/Book Day; Celebremos El dia de los ninos/El dia de los libros illustrated by Rafael Lopez and written by Pat Mora.

Belpre ( Illustrator) Honor Books:

Diego: Bigger Than Life illustrated by David Diaz and written by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand

My Abuelita illustrated by Yuyi Morales and written by Tony Johnston

Gracias /Thanks illustrated by John Parra and written by Pat Mora.

Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience:

Django written and illustrated by Bonnie Christensen is the winner for young children (ages 0 to 10).

Anything but Typical by Nora Raleigh Baskin is the winner for middle grades (ages 11 to 13).

Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork is the winner for teens (ages 1 to 18).

Robert F. Sibert Medal for most distinguished informational book for children:

Almost Astronauts: 13 Women Who Dared to Dream by Tanya Lee Stone

Sibert Honor Books:

The Day-Glo Brothers: The True Story of Bob and Joe Switzer’s Bright Ideas and Brand-New Colors written by Chris Barton and illustrated by Tony Persiani.

Moonshot: The Flight of Apollo 11 written and illustrated by Brian Floca.

Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose.

YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award

Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman is the winner of the first-ever YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award.

Source: American Library Association at www.ala.org

The opinions expressed in The Book Whisperer are strictly those of the author(s) and do not reflect the opinions or endorsement of Editorial Projects in Education, or any of its publications.