Oklahoma Cuts Back on High School Testing, Opens Door to ACT, SAT

By Catherine Gewertz — June 21, 2016 1 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

Oklahoma has dumped a requirement that students take seven end-of-course tests, and pass four in order to graduate. Instead, it will require students to take a new exam to earn their diplomas.

The new testing regimen is outlined in House Bill 3218, which was signed last month by Gov. Mary Fallin. The law requires the state board of education to issue a request for proposals to build a new assessment system for grades 3-12 that would begin in the 2017-18 school year.

The new tests must “provide comparability” with the scores of tests in other states, and at the high school level, must “provide a measure of future academic performance,” the law says. Students’ highest score on the high school test must be included on their transcripts as a signal of competence to future employers and higher education institutions.

Depending on the availability of funding, Oklahoma may also offer a “nationally recognized high school test” free of charge to all students, the law said. As we’ve explained, the Every Student Succeeds Act, which replaced No Child Left Behind, permits states or districts to use a “nationally recognized” high school test such as the ACT or SAT as its test for federal accountability at the high school level.

The language in Oklahoma’s law, however, doesn’t say the state plans to use a college admissions test as its high school assessment. It says only that the state “may” offer such a test if there’s enough money to do so. Half the states now require all students to take either the SAT or ACT, and a dozen use those tests for accountability.

During the 2016-17 school year, Oklahoma high school students will have a reduced testing regimen: They will take exams in English/language arts, math, U.S. history, and science once during high school.

See also:

Get High School & Beyond posts delivered to your inbox as soon as they’re published. Sign up here. Also, for news and analysis of issues that shape adolescents’ preparation for work and higher education.

A version of this news article first appeared in the High School & Beyond blog.

Commenting has been disabled on effective Sept. 8. Please visit our FAQ section for more details. To get in touch with us visit our contact page, follow us on social media, or submit a Letter to the Editor.


This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Teaching Webinar
What’s Next for Teaching and Learning? Key Trends for the New School Year
The past 18 months changed the face of education forever, leaving teachers, students, and families to adapt to unprecedented challenges in teaching and learning. As we enter the third school year affected by the pandemic—and
Content provided by Instructure
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Curriculum Webinar
How Data and Digital Curriculum Can Drive Personalized Instruction
As we return from an abnormal year, it’s an educator’s top priority to make sure the lessons learned under adversity positively impact students during the new school year. Digital curriculum has emerged from the pandemic
Content provided by Kiddom
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Equity & Diversity Webinar
Leadership for Racial Equity in Schools and Beyond
While the COVID-19 pandemic continues to reveal systemic racial disparities in educational opportunity, there are revelations to which we can and must respond. Through conscientious efforts, using an intentional focus on race, school leaders can
Content provided by Corwin

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

Assessment Spotlight Spotlight on Assessment in 2021
In this Spotlight, review newest assessment scores, see how districts will catch up with their supports for disabled students, plus more.
Assessment 'Nation's Report Card' Has a New Reading Framework, After a Drawn-Out Battle Over Equity
The new framework for the National Assessment of Educational Progress will guide development of the 2026 reading test.
10 min read
results 925693186 02
Assessment Opinion Q&A Collections: Assessment
Scores of educators share commentaries on the use of assessments in schools.
5 min read
Images shows colorful speech bubbles that say "Q," "&," and "A."
Assessment Standardized Tests Could Be in Jeopardy in Wake of Biden Decisions, Experts Say
Has the Biden administration shored up statewide tests this year only to risk undermining long-term public backing for them?
6 min read
Image of a test sheet.