Foreign-Language Teachers Recognized

By Clara Pak — July 30, 2013 1 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages this week announced the finalists for its annual National Language Teacher of the Year Award.

Among the five finalists, three are Spanish-language teachers. They are Norma Arroyo of Fossil Ridge High School in Fort Collins, Colo.; Linda Egnatz of Lincoln-Way Community High School in Frankfort, Ill.; and Margarita Boyatzi Dempsey who also teaches French at Smithfield High School in Greenville, R.I.

The other two finalists are Latin teacher Robert Patrick of Parkview High School in Lawrenceville, Ga., and Taeko Tashibu of Roosevelt High School in Seattle, who is a Japanese language teacher.

According to the ACTFL, the Language Teacher of the Year takes on the role of spokesperson for the language-teaching profession, promoting the importance of teaching foreign languages and cultures. The current LTY is Noah Geisel, a Spanish teacher at East High School in Denver. (Check out his presentation on engaging students in cultural studies.)

This year’s winner will be announced at the ACTFL’s Annual Convention in Orlando, Fla., in November.

In addition to administering the award, the ACTFL, a membership organization, provides professional development, certification programs, and language-education resources. It also offers scholarship and grant opportunities.

A version of this news article first appeared in the Teaching Now blog.