School & District Management

Finalists for 2018 National Superintendent of the Year Unveiled

By Corey Mitchell — December 18, 2017 1 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

Finalists for the 2018 national superintendent of the year award were announced today by AASA, the School Superintendents Association.

The finalist are Wendy Robinson of the Fort Wayne, Ind., schools; David Schuler, of Township High School District 214 in Arlington Heights, Ill.; Mary Sieu of the ABC Unified schools in Cerrito, Calif., and Mike Winstead of the Maryville, Tenn., school district.

Robinson has led the Fort Wayne schools since 2003. Education Week selected and profile Robinson as part of its 2016 Leaders To Learn From class.

Schuler has led the suburban Chicago district since 2005 and is a former AASA president. In that role, he and Daniel Domenech, the executive director of AASA, launched a national campaign to redefine college and career readiness.

Sieu took the helm as the superintendent in her southern California district in 2012, after serving as the district’s deputy superintendent. She has worked in the district since 1989.

Winstead has led his eastern Tennessee school system since the start of 2014.

The finalists were selected as winners in their individual states’ contests for superintendent of the year. The national winner will be announced at AASA’s annual conference in February in Nashville, Tenn.

A version of this news article first appeared in the District Dossier blog.