Opinion
Education Opinion

Page 1

By Emmet Rosenfeld — December 31, 2008 2 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

I’m not going to write you a resolution, cause you asked for it… which is why I am posting this on December 31st, instead of tomorrow. Here’s my new year’s news: I’m going to write a book.

Oops, I said it (again). Last time, in this space, was the auspicious pause before the school year when teacher resolutions are generally made (“Lull Before the Storm,” August 21, 2007). On the verge then of starting my third and I did not know then final year at High Tech High, I talked about various topics including the perennial quest to be a better dude, also the possibility of writing a teacher book for an excellent Alexandria-based educational publisher.

That previous gesture at book-writing didn’t pan out, although I still think teachers would dig a guide to working smarter using student-centered methods inspired by a premise that I first heard in the Summer Institute a decade or so ago from Tidewater Writing Project director Deny Wolfe: “School should not be a place where kids go to watch teachers work hard.” I could give you a few good excuses why that proposal didn’t get writ, but instead, let me give three reasons why this one will.

An agent. I was contacted by Andrea from Long Island, who introduced herself as “a literary agent who is also a mother, a PTA President and education advocate. I read education blogs and magazines regularly and love your blog…” She had me at PTA President, but went on to outline experience with places like Random House that showed she knew her stuff. She even went back and read most of Certifiable? after our first phone conversation, proving herself to be a true gourmand of edublogs.

An idea. The notion of writing a book has always appealed to me, but the reality of it, as Lull’s litter proves, has often been daunting. Multi-tasking mom Andrea understood this, and was receptive to my desire to build on my previous published work rather than create something brand new. And so the twice told tale (this blog, a Washington Post piece last year) of the canoe with legs and my quest for Natty Boards will get told yet again. Same story, different form. The blog will morph into a canoe-paddled narrative, for a broader readership than teachers only.

This blog.
Not only will I harvest the raw material from Certifiable?, I can work it out here on Eduholic. “Don’t overexpose,” Andrea cautions through the unlatched barn door. Good advice which I will observe by writing the thing offline. But what I can do, in the spirit of our ongoing conversation about the teaching of writing, is to expose the guts as I go. Just weeks ago, I talked to local teacher researchers about telling their tales in print (“We Pod,” November 3, 2008), an invitation garnered after a course I gave in summer ’07 called “Voices from the Classroom.” What I learned from both is that teachers want to be heard.

Granted, I know as much about writing a book right now as I knew about building a canoe before I did it with my students (and a lot of help from my friends) a couple years ago. So, here goes nothing. You are cordially invited to learn from my mistakes, offer advice along the way, and ask insightful or dumb questions. With your help, the book will float. I promise.

The opinions expressed in Eduholic are strictly those of the author(s) and do not reflect the opinions or endorsement of Editorial Projects in Education, or any of its publications.


Commenting has been disabled on edweek.org effective Sept. 8. Please visit our FAQ section for more details. To get in touch with us visit our contact page, follow us on social media, or submit a Letter to the Editor.


Events

This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Teaching Webinar
What’s Next for Teaching and Learning? Key Trends for the New School Year
The past 18 months changed the face of education forever, leaving teachers, students, and families to adapt to unprecedented challenges in teaching and learning. As we enter the third school year affected by the pandemic—and
Content provided by Instructure
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Curriculum Webinar
How Data and Digital Curriculum Can Drive Personalized Instruction
As we return from an abnormal year, it’s an educator’s top priority to make sure the lessons learned under adversity positively impact students during the new school year. Digital curriculum has emerged from the pandemic
Content provided by Kiddom
This content is provided by our sponsor. It is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of Education Week's editorial staff.
Sponsor
Equity & Diversity Webinar
Leadership for Racial Equity in Schools and Beyond
While the COVID-19 pandemic continues to reveal systemic racial disparities in educational opportunity, there are revelations to which we can and must respond. Through conscientious efforts, using an intentional focus on race, school leaders can
Content provided by Corwin

EdWeek Top School Jobs

Teacher Jobs
Search over ten thousand teaching jobs nationwide — elementary, middle, high school and more.
View Jobs
Principal Jobs
Find hundreds of jobs for principals, assistant principals, and other school leadership roles.
View Jobs
Administrator Jobs
Over a thousand district-level jobs: superintendents, directors, more.
View Jobs
Support Staff Jobs
Search thousands of jobs, from paraprofessionals to counselors and more.
View Jobs

Read Next

Education Judge's Temporary Order Allows Iowa Schools to Mandate Masks
A federal judge ordered the state to immediately halt enforcement of a law that prevents school boards from ordering masks to be worn.
4 min read
Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds speaks to reporters following a news conference, Thursday, Aug. 19, 2021, in West Des Moines, Iowa. Reynolds lashed out at President Joe Biden Thursday after he ordered his education secretary to explore possible legal action against states that have blocked school mask mandates and other public health measures meant to protect students against COVID-19. Reynolds, a Republican, has signed a bill into law that prohibits school officials from requiring masks, raising concerns as delta variant virus cases climb across the state and schools resume classes soon. (AP Photo/Charlie Neibergall)
Education Hurricane Ida Deals New Blow to Louisiana Schools Struggling to Reopen
The opening of the school year offered teachers a chance to fully assess the pandemic's effects, only to have students forced out again.
8 min read
Six-year-old Mary-Louise Lacobon sits on a fallen tree beside the remnants of her family's home destroyed by Hurricane Ida, in Dulac, La., on Sept. 4, 2021. Louisiana students, who were back in class after a year and a half of COVID-19 disruptions kept many of them at home, are now missing school again after Hurricane Ida. A quarter-million public school students statewide have no school to report to, though top educators are promising a return is, at most, weeks away, not months.
Six-year-old Mary-Louise Lacobon sits on a fallen tree beside the remnants of her family's home destroyed by Hurricane Ida, in Dulac, La., on Sept. 4, 2021.
John Locher/AP
Education Massachusetts National Guard to Help With Busing Students to School
250 guard personnel will be available to serve as drivers of school transport vans, as districts nationwide struggle to hire enough drivers.
1 min read
Massachusetts National Guard soldiers help with logistics in this Friday, April 17, 2020 file photo, at a food distribution site outside City Hall, in Chelsea, Mass. Mass. Gov. Charlie Baker on Monday, Sept. 13, 2021, activated the state's National Guard to help with busing students to school as districts across the country struggle to hire enough drivers.
Massachusetts National Guard soldiers help with logistics in this Friday, April 17, 2020 file photo, at a food distribution site outside City Hall, in Chelsea, Mass.
Michael Dwyer/AP
Education FDA: ‘Very, Very Hopeful’ COVID Shots Will Be Ready for Younger Kids This Year
Dr. Peter Marks said he is hopeful that COVID-19 vaccinations for 5- to 11-year-olds will be underway by year’s end. Maybe sooner.
4 min read
Dr. Peter Marks, director of the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research in the Food and Drug Administration, testifies during a Senate health, education, labor, and pensions hearing to examine an update from federal officials on efforts to combat COVID-19 on Capitol Hill in Washington on May 11, 2021. On Friday, Sept. 10, 2021, Marks urged parents to be patient, saying the agency will rapidly evaluate vaccines for 5- to 11-year-olds as soon as it gets the needed data.
Dr. Peter Marks, director of the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research in the Food and Drug Administration, testifies during a Senate health, education, labor, and pensions hearing to examine an update from federal officials on efforts to combat COVID-19 on Capitol Hill in Washington on May 11, 2021.
Jim Lo Scalzo/AP