Published Online: April 14, 2006
Published in Print: May 1, 2006, as Awards




Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Following are application deadlines for awards, honors, and contests available to teachers. Asterisks (*) denote new entries.


The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, established in 1983 by the White House and sponsored by the National Science Foundation, identifies outstanding K-12 math and science teachers in the 50 states;

Washington, D.C.; Puerto Rico; Department of Defense schools; American Samoa; Guam; and the Virgin Islands. Teachers serve as models for their colleagues and as leaders in the improvement of science and mathematics education. In 2006, grades K-6 teachers are eligible to apply; grades 7-12 teachers will be eligible in 2007. Awardees are chosen by a national selection committee and receive a citation signed by the president of the United States; a $10,000 award from NSF and gifts from donors; and a paid trip for two to Washington, D.C., to attend recognition events, including an award ceremony, meetings with leaders in government and education, sessions to share ideas and teaching experiences, and receptions and banquets. Full-time, certified teachers currently teaching math or science in public or private schools and with at least five years’ experience teaching those subjects in a grades K-6 classroom can be nominated. Principals, other teachers, students, or any member of the general public may submit a nomination. Self-nominations will not be accepted. Nomination forms are available on the Web site. Completed applications must be submitted to state coordinators. Contact: NSF, 4201 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, VA 22230; (703) 292-5111;


The National Fire Protection Association seeks nominations for its 2006 Teacher of the Year Award. Full- or part-time classroom teachers or day-care providers in public, private, or parochial school systems that have used NFPA’s Risk Watch or Learn Not To Burn educational materials are eligible. The winning teacher will receive $2,000 to support classroom efforts. Application materials are available on the Web site. Contact: Amy LeBeau, NFPA, 1 Batterymarch Park, Quincy, MA 02169; (617) 984-7269; e-mail [email protected].org;


The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages asks national, state, and regional members to nominate educators for its Florence Steiner Award for Leadership in Foreign Language Education. Nominees must be K-12 foreign language teachers or administrators with a minimum of five years’ teaching experience. They also must be members of the council with at least three years’ standing and spend at least half of each school year teaching a foreign language. The winner receives a $500 cash award. Contact: ACTFL, 700 S. Washington St., Suite 210, Alexandria, VA 22314; (703) 894-2900;


The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages asks national, state, and regional members to nominate educators for its Awards Program. Nominees must be K-16 foreign language teachers or administrators. The winners receive a $500 cash award. Contact: ACTFL, 700 S. Washington St., Suite 210, Alexandria, VA 22314; (703) 894-2900;


The Christa McAuliffe Memorial Award, offered by the Aerospace Education Foundation, honors one public, private, or parochial K-12 teacher who furthers the concepts of aerospace technology through innovative classroom programs. The award includes a $5,000 stipend and a trip to Washington, D.C., where the winner is recognized at the Air Force Association National Convention. Each applicant must have a letter of endorsement by an AFA sponsor and a letter of support from an administrator. Contact: AEF, 1501 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22209; (800) 291-8480; fax (703) 247- 5853; e-mail [email protected];


The Association of Teacher Educators seeks award applicants. The annual Distinguished Dissertation in Teacher Education Award gives the author a monetary award, which is supported by a grant from the ATE Leadership Foundation for Teacher Education; a plaque; and national recognition. Candidates must have completed their dissertations within the past two years at an accredited college or university. The Distinguished Research in Teacher Education Awards recognize and encourage outstanding studies of teacher education or student learning. Individuals involved in teacher education may submit papers published or accepted for publication within the past two years or papers of comparable quality. Contact: Catherine A. Kelly, ATE Research Committee—Distinguished Dissertation Award, University of Colorado at Colorado Springs, 1420 Austin Bluffs Pkwy., Colorado Springs, CO 80933; (719) 262-4339; e-mail [email protected]; or Nancy Fichtman Dana, ATE Research Committee—Distinguished Research Award, University of Florida, 334 Norman Hall, P.O. Box 117052, Gainesville, FL 32611-7052; (352) 392-0728, ext. 299; e-mail [email protected];


The Dow Jones Newspaper Fund seeks applicants for its National High School Journalism Teacher Awards. The program selects the National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year, who acts as a spokesperson for scholastic journalism; four Distinguished Advisers; and several Special Recognition Advisers. Candidates must have at least three years’ experience teaching or advising high school journalists; have taught or advised during 2005-06; and plan to continue teaching or advising in 2006-07. The Teacher of the Year receives a laptop computer and the opportunity to attend a professional seminar at the Poynter Institute; a senior student at the winner’s school is eligible for a $1,000 college scholarship. Contact: Dow Jones Newspaper Fund, P.O. Box 300, Princeton, NJ 08543; (609) 452-2820; fax (609) 520-5804; e-mail [email protected];

*October 15 NUTRITION

The National Gardening Association and Gardener’s Supply Company have partnered to support schools and community organizations that use gardens to teach about nutrition and explore the issue of hunger in the United States. Each of 25 programs receives a package with seeds and educational resources for growing a vegetable garden. These 25 programs also receive a $200 gift certificate for the Gardener’s Supply Company catalog. Selection is based on the demonstrated relationship of the garden to nutrition education and hunger awareness. At least 10 percent of the food produced from the program should be donated. Applications are available on the Web site. Contact: Donna Booska, Grants, National Gardening Association, 1100 Dorset St., South Burlington, VT 05403; (800) 538-7476, ext. 115;

Vol. 17, Issue 06, Pages 50-51

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories