Published Online: September 30, 2005
Published in Print: October 1, 2005, as Awards




Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Following are application deadlines for awards, honors, and contests available to teachers. Asterisks (*) denote new entries.


The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics’ Mathematics Education Trust sponsors the Lifetime Achievement Award. NCTM members with at least 25 years of distinguished service in math education are eligible. Each application must be supported by a letter of nomination, the nominee’s résumé, and up to five letters of recommendation. Contact: NCTM’s MET, 1906 Association Dr., Reston, VA 20191-1502; (703) 620-9840, ext. 2112; e-mail [email protected];

*November 15 READING

The Exemplary Reading Program Award is sponsored by the International Reading Association to recognize outstanding programs at elementary, middle, and high schools. A participating state or provincial reading council may choose one school each year. U.S. and Canadian schools are eligible for the award, provided the state or province has an Exemplary Reading Program award committee to judge applications. At least one faculty or staff member from an applying school must be a member of the International Reading Association. Winners are recognized with a plaque at the IRA annual convention and serve as models for other schools and teachers. Contact: Shirley Morton, Division of Council and Affiliate Services, International Reading Association, 800 Barksdale Rd., P.O. Box 8139, Newark, DE 19714-8139; (302) 731-1600, ext. 236; fax (302) 731-1057; e-mail [email protected];

*November 15 SCIENCE

The Shell Science Teaching Award, sponsored by Shell Oil Company, recognizes one classroom science teacher and two finalists with an expenses-paid trip to the National Science Teachers Association national convention. The winner receives $10,000 and must have eight years’ teaching experience and primarily teach science in grades K-12 in Canada, the United States, U.S. territories, or U.S. Department of Defense Dependents Schools. Contact: NSTA, 1840 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, VA 22201-3000; (703) 243-7100;


The College Board seeks applications for its 2006 Inspiration Awards, which celebrate America’s most improved high schools. Three winning schools will each receive $25,000, and five honorable mention schools will receive $1,000 each. Winning schools initiate unique programs and create partnerships among teachers, parents, community organizations, and local businesses to help more students attend college. All secondary schools in which 40 percent or more of students receive free or reduced-price lunch are eligible. Schools should be able to demonstrate significant and consistent growth across the entire student population in the following areas: participation in rigorous curricula, such as advanced placement, international baccalaureate, or other honors courses; participation in PSAT/NMSQT, SAT, or ACT program assessments that demonstrate preparation for college attendance; and acceptance to two- or four-year institutions of higher education. More information and applications are available on the Web site. Contact: Inspiration Awards, (212) 713-8052; e-mail [email protected];

Vol. 17, Issue 02, Page 64

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories