Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Following are application deadlines for awards, honors, and contests available to teachers. Asterisks (*) denote new entries.

*September 15 READING

The International Reading Association sponsors two awards. The $1,000 Albert J. Harris Award recognizes an outstanding contribution to the prevention and/or assessment of reading or learning disabilities; the $500 Dina Feitelson Research Award goes to an outstanding empirical study reporting on literacy acquisition. Applicants who have published in a professional journal or monograph between June 1, 2002, and May 31, 2003, are eligible for either prize. Contact: Marcella Moore, Division of Research and Policy, International Reading Association, 800 Barksdale Rd., P.O. Box 8139, Newark, DE 19714-8139; (302) 731-1600, ext. 423; fax (302) 731- 1057; e-mail [email protected];


Freedoms Foundation at Valley Forge seeks nominations for the 27th annual Leavey Awards for Excellence in Private Enterprise Education. These awards honor full-time K-12 educators and college professors who conceive and implement innovative courses, programs, or projects that foster a better understanding of America's private enterprise system. As many as 20 winners receive $7,500 each; a special award of $15,000 may be given for an exceptional entry. Eligible programs must have been launched or operated during the 2002-03 academic year. Entries may be submitted by instructor teams or individuals. For more information, contact: Carolyn Hallman, Director of Awards, Freedoms Foundation at Valley Forge, 1601 Valley Forge Rd., P.O. Box 706, Valley Forge, PA 19482-0706; (610) 933-8825 or (800) 896-5488; fax (610) 935-0522; e-mail [email protected];

*October 1 READING

The International Reading Association offers the $1,000 Outstanding Dissertation of the Year award to a doctoral student whose research focuses on the reading/literacy field or has implications in reading. Dissertations must have been completed between May 15, 2002, and May 14, 2003. Contact: Marcella Moore, Division of Research and Policy, International Reading Association, 800 Barksdale Rd., P.O. Box 8139, Newark, DE 19714-8139; (302) 731-1600, ext. 423; fax (302) 731-1057; e-mail [email protected];


The Young Epidemiology Scholars program teacher competition offers up to $180,000 in awards each year. Individual teachers and teams of teachers are eligible to apply; however, each entry is eligible for only one prize, to be shared among all team members. Up to 18 regional winners will be selected and will receive $5,000 each. Of these, up to six projects will be selected as national winners, with an additional $15,000 award. The competition is sponsored by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and administered by the College Board, and winning entries are posted on the Web site each year for other teachers to use. The registration form and more information are available on the Web site. Contact: Catherine Meredith, 1191 Freedom Dr., Suite 300, Reston, VA 20190; (800) 626-9795, ext. 793; e-mail [email protected];

*October 15 SCIENCE

Delta Education and the National Science Teachers Association recognize three preK-12 science teachers who use hands-on and field-tested instruction to promote student achievement. Fellow science teachers or school principals may make nominations in elementary, middle, and high school categories. Nominees must be full-time classroom teachers and have taught for at least a year in an accredited public, private, or Department of Defense Dependent school. Awardees receive an expenses-paid trip to the 2004 NSTA convention in Atlanta, a plaque, and a check for $1,500, to be presented during the banquet. The application and further information are available on the Web site. Contact: Lori Pinson, NSTA, 1840 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, VA 22201; (888) 400-6782; e-mail [email protected];

—By Lillian Hsu & Marianne Hurst

Vol. 15, Issue 1, Page 56

Published in Print: September 1, 2003, as Awards
Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories