Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Following are application deadlines for awards, honors, and contests available to teachers. Asterisks (*) denote new entries.

*September 15 READING
The International Reading Association sponsors two $500 awards. The Albert J. Harris Award recognizes an outstanding contribution to the prevention and/or assessment of reading or learning disabilities; the Dina Feitelson Research Award goes to an outstanding empirical study reporting on literacy acquisition. Those who have published in a professional journal or monograph between June 1, 1999, and May 31, 2000, are eligible for either prize. For more information, contact: Gail Keating, Division of Research and Policy, International Reading Association, 800 Barksdale Rd., P.O. Box 8139, Newark, DE 19714-8139; (302) 731-1600, ext. 226; fax (302) 731- 1057; e-mail [email protected];

The International Reading Association offers the Outstanding Dissertation of the Year Award to a doctoral student whose research focuses on the reading/literacy field or has implications in reading. Dissertations must have been completed between May 15, 1999, and May 14, 2000. For more information, contact: Gail Keating, Division of Research and Policy, International Reading Association, 800 Barksdale Rd., P.O. Box 8139, Newark, DE 19714-8139; (302) 731-1600, ext. 226; fax (302) 731-1057; e-mail [email protected];

October 1 INSECTS
The Entomological Society of America sponsors awards for educators who use insects in the classroom. The society recognizes two teachers: one from grades K-6 and one from grades 7-12. The winners receive an expenses-paid trip to the ESA annual meeting. Their schools receive a $400 grant for materials. To apply, teachers submit seven copies of materials and letters documenting an original activity, lesson, or exercise using insects in the classroom. For more information, contact: Prizes for Primary and Secondary Teaching Committee, Entomological Society of America, 9301 Annapolis Rd., Lanham, MD 20706; (301) 731-4535; fax (301) 731-4538; e-mail [email protected].

Freedoms Foundation at Valley Forge seeks nominations for the Valley Forge 24th Annual Leavey Awards for Excellence in Private Enterprise Education. These awards honor full- time K-12 educators and college or university professors who conceive and implement an innovative course, program, or project that fosters a better understanding of America’s private enterprise system. Up to 20 educators receive $7,500 each; a special award of $15,000 may be given for an unusually meritorious entry. Eligible programs must have been launched or operated during the 1999- 2000 academic year. Entries may be submitted by instructor teams or individuals. For more information, contact: Debbie Bathen, Director of Awards, Freedoms Foundation at Valley Forge, 1601 Valley Forge Rd., P.O. Box 706, Valley Forge, PA 19482-0706; (610) 933-8825; fax (610) 935-0522; e-mail [email protected];

The Science Screen Report Inc., in conjunction with the National Science Teachers Association, sponsors the Science Screen Report Award. K-12 science teachers who have used commercially available films or videos to develop a science unit or theme are encouraged to apply. One winner receives $1,000, plus up to $500 to attend the NSTA convention in St. Louis. For more information, contact: National Science Teachers Association Award Programs, 1840 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, VA 22201-3000; (703) 243-7100; fax (888) 400-NSTA;

The National Science Teachers Association, in conjunction with various corporate and association sponsors, offers a number of awards for K-12 science teachers and principals. The criteria for each award varies, but most applicants are judged on innovation and commitment to teaching. Sponsors include the Barrick Goldstrike Mines Inc.; the National Aeronautics and Space Administration; Ciba Specialty Chemical Education Foundation; Toyota Motor Sales, USA Inc.; Toshiba America Inc.; Estes Rocketry and the United States Space Foundation; Dow Chemical Co.; Sears, Roebuck, and Co.; and the Drug, Chemical, and Allied Trades Association. Awards include cash prizes of up to $1 million each year, computers, NSTA memberships, and trips to the NSTA's national convention and workshops. For more information, contact: National Science Teachers Association, 1840 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, VA 22201-3000; (703) 243-7100; fax (888) 400-6782;

—Mesha Williams

Web Only

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories