In The Spotlight

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

The National Council for Geographic Education and the George F. Cram Co., an Indianapolis-based producer of maps, globes, and geography materials, announce the winners of a $750 scholarship to attend the 1997 meeting of the National Council for Geographic Education in Orlando, Fla.: Patricia King Robeson of Beltsville (Md.) Academic Center; Jody Smothers Marcello of Blatchley Middle School in Sitka, Alaska; Helen Johnson of the Rhode Island Geography Education Alliance; Maureen Whalen Spaight of Martin Junior High School in East Providence, R.I.; and Linda Hammon of Canyon High School in New Braunfels, Texas.

Children's Television Workshop and Creative Classroom magazine announce the winners of the second annual Plan-A-Dream grant program, sponsored by MCI Corp. and the Teachers Insurance Annuity Association. The three teachers each receive $2,500 to implement innovative classroom projects and an expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C., for an awards ceremony. The grant winners are: Joan Taddie of Endeavour Elementary School in Cocoa, Fla.; Catherine Kibler of St. Mary's School for the Deaf in Buffalo, N.Y.; and Margie Wagoner of Corpus Christi Catholic School in Houston.

Four teams of teachers have won the 1997 Prentice Hall/National Middle School Association Teaching Team Awards for outstanding interdisciplinary projects. They are: Vicki Marino, Christine Ellis, Ken Radie, Sheila Pressler, and John Shirhal of Hudson (Ohio) Middle School; Patty Gibian, Raymond Perkins, Ruth Woodie, and Steve Burke of Georgetown (Ky.) Middle School; Mary Richards-Fort, Janet Clarke, Nancy Morris, and Steve Ex of Gruening Middle School in Eagle River, Ala.; and John Grebeck, Patricia Baer, Eileen Maher, and Frank Barto of Hillside Avenue School in Cranford, N.J. Each team received $3,000 for their school from Prentice Hall, a publisher of instructional materials.

The 1997 National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year is Dow Tate, a journalism and publications adviser at Hillcrest High School in Dallas. The award is sponsored by the Dow Jones Newspaper Fund, a nonprofit philanthropy supported by the Dow Jones Foundation and other newspaper companies. Tate will receive a plaque and speak at various conferences; a senior at Hillcrest High will receive a $1,000 college scholarship to study journalism.

Web Only

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories