In the Spotlight

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

The National Council for the Social Studies announces the winners of its 1996 Teacher of the Year award: Shirley Stein of Sullivan School in Ulysses, Kan.; Susan Hightshoe of Linn-Mar Intermediate School in Marion, Iowa; David Seiter of Northridge High School in Layton, Utah; and Linda Karen Miller of Fairfax (Va.) High School.

Ralph Adams, a social studies teacher at Felicity-Franklin High School in Felicity, Ohio, has been selected to receive the 1996 Defense of Academic Freedom Award, co-sponsored by Social Issues Resources Series Inc. Adams was honored for his fight to stop invocation prayers at Felicity-Franklin graduation exercises as unconstitutional. He also has taken several controversial stands against school officials in the name of academic freedom.

Merle Dieleman, a journalism teacher and publications adviser at Pleasant Valley (Iowa) Community High School, has been chosen as the 1996 National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year through the Dow Jones Newspaper Fund's Teacher Awards Program. Dow Jones also named four Distinguished Advisers: Linda Evanchyk of Choctawhatchee High School, Fort Walton Beach, Fla.; Arnetta Garcin of Lynbrook High School, San Jose, Calif.; Diana Hadley of Mooresville (Ind.) High School; and Linda Kane of Naperville (Ill.) High School. Eight Special Recognition Advisers were also honored: Ruth Bartz of Santa Barbara (Calif.) High School; Marge Craig of Cape Coral (Fla.) High School; Brenda Gorsuch of West Henderson High School, Hendersonville, N.C.; Bill Hankins of Oak Park High School, Kansas City, Mo.; Robert Hendricks of Fargo (N.D.) South High School; Joseph Jungblut of South Newton Senior/Junior High School, Kentland, Ind.; Rebecca Lucas of Shawnee Mission High School East, Overland Park, Kan.; and J.F. Pirro of Emmaus (Pa.) High School.

Web Only

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories