The Decade in Illustration: The Best From Education Week Opinion

Look back on highlights from the striking art that accompanied a decade of opinion essays.

The Decade in Illustration

The Best From Education Week Opinion



Over the past decade, Education Week has worked with artists from around the world and at all stages of their careers to illustrate the diversity of opinion essays we publish. When matching an illustrator to an essay, we try to marry the tone of the opinion author with the artist's aesthetic. We work closely with the illustrator to interpret both concrete and conceptual arguments into clear visuals. Here are some of our favorite illustrations in the past 10 years.





Illustration by Luis Diaz.
Accompanied the essay, “The Charter School Express,” by Gary Miron & Leigh Dingerson. Published October 2, 2009.





Illustration by Susan Sanford.
Accompanied the essay, “Testing the Test,” by Marcia Kastner. Published May 10, 2011.





Illustration by Chris Whetzel.
Accompanied the essay, “Finding Hope in Atlanta,” by Dave Powell. Published August 23, 2011.





Illustration by Jeff Dekal.
Accompanied the essay, “Reaching the 9/11 Generation,” by Christopher L. Doyle. Published September 11, 2012.





Illustration by Robbie Lawrence.
Accompanied the essay, “Michelle Obama: My College Story Can Be Yours,” by Michelle Obama. Published June 10, 2014.





Illustration by Brent Greenwood; image text from Winona Daily Republican, 1863.
Accompanied the essay, “My High School Mascot Is Offensive,” by Gillian McGoldrick. Published February 17, 2015.





Illustration by Jori Bolton.
Accompanied the essay, “Carol Dweck Revisits the 'Growth Mindset',” by Carol Dweck. Published September 22, 2015.





Illustration by Jared Boggess.
Accompanied the essay, “The Principal as Community Advocate,” by David E. DeMatthews. Published August 29, 2016.





Illustration by Melody Newcomb.
Accompanied the essay, “I'm a Veteran Teacher. Here's Why I'm Speaking Out,” by Paula Reed. Published May 15, 2018.





Illustration by Diego Cadena Bejarano.
Accompanied the essay, “'Grit Is in Our DNA': Why Teaching Grit Is Inherently Anti-Black,” Bettina L. Love. Published February 12, 2019.





Illustration by Spencer Flock.
Accompanied the essay, “Stop Scapegoating Gifted Students for Inequality,” by James R. Delisle. Published November 6, 2019.





More From Our Decade in Review




Compiled by: Opinion Editor Elizabeth Rich, Associate Art Director Vanessa Solis, Assistant Opinion Editor Mary Hendrie, Opinion Editorial Intern Dominique Bander