School & District Management

AASA Announces National Superintendent of the Year Finalists

By Corey Mitchell — December 15, 2015 1 min read
  • Save to favorites
  • Print

Finalists for the 2016 national superintendent of the year award were announced earlier today by AASA, the School Superintendents Association.

The finalists are Freddie Williamson of the Hoke County Schools in Raeford, N.C.; Thomas Tucker of the Princeton City Schools, in Cincinnati; Pamela Moran of the Albemarle County schools in Charlottesville, Va.; and Steven Webb of the Vancouver Public Schools in Vancouver, Wa.

The finalists were selected as winners in their individual states’ contests for superintendent of the year. The national winner will be announced at AASA’s annual conference in February.

Williamson and Moran have led their respective districts since 2006. Webb has served as superintendent in Vancouver since 2008.

Tucker has led his district since July, coming over from the nearby Worthington, Ohio, schools.

Here’s a link with short biographies for each finalist.

A $10,000 college scholarship will be presented in the name of the winner to a student in the high school from which that superintendent graduated, or the school now serving the same area.

AASA selected Philip Lanoue, the schools chief in Clarke County schools in Athens, Ga., as the 2015 national superintendent of the year.

A version of this news article first appeared in the District Dossier blog.