Honors and Awards

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Math and Science Fellowships

Thirty-three recent graduates of teaching programs throughout the country have each been awarded a $150,000 fellowship from the Knowles Science and Teaching Foundation, a Moorestown, N.J.-based philanthropy that supports math and science teachers. The five-year award will support tuition assistance, monthly stipends, and professional development programs for the recipients, who include the following:

California: Shelley Deford, Walnut Creek; Sangeetha Lakshminarayanan, Stanford; Jessica Newville, Ventura; Alexia Olson, Newport Beach; Emily Sweet, Piedmont; Ajoy Vase, Claremont.
Colorado: Lindsey Quinlisk, Colorado Springs.
Illinois: Heather Haines, Chicago.
Kentucky: Rachel Dunnagan, Louisville.
Minnesota: James Lane, Minneapolis; Kaitlin Lee, Minneapolis; Jessica Richardson, St. Paul.
Michigan: Jordan Pasqualin, Flint; Maurice Telesford, Southfield.
New York: Geoffrey Gailey, Rochester; Lisa Martone, Rochester; Clare Morgan, Albany; Christopher Priedemann, Bayshore.
New Jersey: Megan O’Reilly, Woodbury.
Oregon: Elizabeth Dick, McMinnville.
Pennsylvania: Corinne Cornibe, Shaler; Kelsey Johnson, Downingtown; Scott Murphy, Philadelphia; Ellie Ratliff, Pittsburgh; Liz Ratliff, Beaver Falls; Jonathan Tannen, Philadelphia.
Puerto Rico: Alexandra Fuentes, Mayaguez.
Tennessee: Callie Van Koughnett, Memphis.
Texas: Mark Spong, Denton; Melissa Barger, Houston.
Virginia: Amol Patel, Danville; Kristine Schleibaum, Fairfax.
Washington: Gregory Borish, Seattle.

Broad Urban Education Award

The Broad Foundation, a Los Angeles-based philanthropy that supports the arts, education, and science, has awarded the 2007 Broad Prize for Urban Education, worth $550,000, to the New York City Department of Education. The department plans to give the money to 61 recent high school graduates in the city to help them pay for college. Recognized as finalists for the award were four other city school districts, each winning $125,000. They included: Bridgeport Public Schools, Bridgeport, Conn.; Long Beach Unified School District, Long Beach, Calif.; Miami-Dade County Public Schools, Miami; and the Northside Independent School District, San Antonio,Texas.

Vol. 27

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on edweek.org, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories