Honors and Awards

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Assistant Principal of the Year

The National Association of Secondary School Principals, a Reston, Va.-based nonprofit membership organization for school principals that also administers the National Honor Society, has awarded Hilca Thomas, an assistant principal at Howard A. Doolin Middle School in Miami with the 2008 National Assistant Principal of the Year award. In recognition of her efforts to improve science and math education and test scores in her school, Ms. Thomas will receive a $5,000 award to be used for professional development or for her school.

Educational Research Awards

The Washington-based American Educational Research Association, a national education research organization, has awarded David Wolcott Johnson, a professor of psychology at the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, with the Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award, in recognition of his research on conflict resolution and cooperative learning. In addition, 13 other researchers received honors across seven categories. The awards and recipients include the following:

Palmer O. Johnson Memorial Award: Geoffrey D. Borman, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Robert E. Slavin, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore; Alan C.K. Cheung, Hong Kong Institute of Education; Anne M. Chamberlain and Nancy A. Madden, Success for All Foundation, Baltimore; Bette Chambers, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore.
E.F. Lindquist Award: Wendy M. Yen, Educational Testing Services, Princeton, N.J.
Early Career Award: Andrew J. Martin, University of Sydney, Australia.
Outstanding Book Award: C.J. Pascoe, University of California-Berkeley.
Social Justice in Education Award: Sonia Nieto, University of Massachusetts, Amherst.
Distinguished Public Service Award: Bruce Alberts, University of California-San Francisco.

Tech Savvy Awards

The Verizon Foundation, the Basking Ridge, N.J.-based philanthropic division of Verizon Communications Inc., has awarded the $25,000 grand prize for the 2008 Verizon Tech Savvy Award to The Boston Digital Bridge Foundation, a nonprofit organization that provides technology instruction to underserved communities in the Boston area.

Four other recipients received a prize of $5,000 each. They include: Prima Community College Foundation, Tuscon, Ariz.; Santa Barbara Partners in Education, Santa Barbara, Calif.; National Institute on Media and Family, Minneapolis; The Computers for Youth Foundation, New York City.

Vol. 27

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on edweek.org, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories