Honors and Awards

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

After-School Child Care Awards

Michelle Seligson, the former director of the National Institute on Out-of-School Time at Wellesley College in Wellesley, Mass., has received the Excellence in Leadership Award from the School-Age Notes Foundation, a Leawood, Kan.-based nonprofit organization that supports after-school programs and provides training for after-school care givers. The award is given in recognition of Ms. Seligson’s long career of research in the field of after-school child care.

National Child Labor Committee Awards

The National Child Labor Committee, a New York City-based nonprofit organization that promotes the well being and education of children, has awarded 10 recipients with the 2008 Lewis Hine Awards, in recognition of their work with children and youths. The recipients include the following:

California: Sherilyn Adams, San Francisco.
Connecticut: José Colón-Rivas, Hartford.
Florida: Freddie Barrett Rainwater, Gulf Breeze.
Kentucky: Stan Curtis, Prospect.
New York: Don Bluestone, Bronx; Gene Bowen, Warwick; Ronald E. Dukes, Rochester; Paulette Lomonaco, New York City.
Rhode Island: Chris and Ann Burke, North Kingstown; Steve Kidd, Pawtucket.

Vol. 27

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on edweek.org, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories