Honors and Awards

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

High School Awards

The American Association for Retired Persons has awarded six high schools in six cities with the grand prize of the Ethel Percy Andrus Legacy Award. The award, part of the AARP’s 50th anniversary celebration, includes a $100,000 prize to help establish school programs that foster civic engagement and volunteerism. The recipients include the following:

District of Columbia: McKinley Technology High School.
Florida: The Young Men’s Academy for Academic and Civic Engagement at MacArthur South, Miami.
Georgia: Alonso A. Crim High School, Atlanta.
Illinois: Theodore Roosevelt High School, Chicago.
Pennsylvania: Central High School, Philadelphia.
Texas: Furr High School, Houston.

Counselor of the Year

Tammi Mackeben, a kindergarten through 8th grade counselor at Ernesto Serna PreK-8 School in El Paso, Texas, has been named the 2008 School Counselor of the Year by the Alexandria, Va.-based American School Counselor Association. Ms. Mackeben was selected for the award from a pool of 300 applicants and was recognized for her work to make college preparation programs available to all students.

Vol. 27

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on edweek.org, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories