Honors and Awards

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Milken Foundation Awards

Seventy-five K-12 educators from around the country have been awarded a total of $2 million in the 2007 Educator Awards from the Santa Monica, Calif.-based Milken Foundation, a philanthropy started in 1982 by Lowell Milken with the goal of honoring outstanding educators and principals. This year’s winners were selected by a panel from each of the state’s education departments and were nominated based on their ability to improve student learning and for demonstrating strong long-range professional potential. Each of this year’s winners will receive a $25,000 cash prize. The recipients include the following:

Alabama: Bonnie Garrett, Edward White Middle School, Huntsville.
Alaska: Michael Warren, Central Middle School of Science, Anchorage.
Arizona: Caroline Torres, Sahuarita High School, Sahuarita.
Arkansas: Margaret Lockhart, Lingle Middle School, Rogers; Corey Oliver, Bob Courtway Middle School, Conway.
California: Aaron Chung, Temple Intermediate School, Rosemead; Sakhalin Finnie, Harbor Teacher Preparation Academy, Wilmington; Marilyn Garza, Santa Barbara Junior High School, Santa Barbara.
Colorado: Michael Arsenault, Pine Creek High School, Colorado Springs; Daniel Uyechi, Sierra Middle School, Parker.
Connecticut: Thomas Brodnitzki, Metropolitan Learning Center, Bloomfield; John Nguyen, James Hillhouse High School, New Haven.
Florida: Janice Boyd, Cecil E. Gray Middle School, Groveland.
Georgia: Wendy McCarron, Northview High School, Duluth; Jill Ryerson, North Whitfield Middle School, Dalton.
Hawaii: Yannabah Lewis, Kealakehe High School, Kailua-Kona.
Idaho: Mikki Nuckols, Rocky Mountain Middle School, Idaho Falls.
Illinois: Samantha Godden-Chmielowicz, Schurz High School, Chicago; Katherine “Daphne” Whitington, Las Casas Occupational High School, Chicago.
Indiana: Jeff Rudkin, Batchelor Middle School, Bloomington; Dexter Suggs, Emma Donnan Middle School, Indianapolis.
Kansas: Jamelle Brown, Summer Academy of Arts and Science, Kansas City; Eric Kessler, Blue Valley North High School, Overland Park.
Kentucky: Dodd Caudill, LaRue County Middle School, Hodgenville.
Louisiana: Cheronda Cooper, Peabody Magnet High School, Lake Charles; Sabra Soileau, Moss Bluff Middle School, Lake Charles; Brian Young, Martin Behrman Charter School, New Orleans.
Maine: Brian Jandreau, South Portland High School, South Portland.
Maryland: Mabrooka Chaudhry, Atholton High School, Columbia; Kiara Hargrove, Baltimore Polytechnic Institute, Baltimore.
Massachusetts: Anne Clark, Boston Arts Academy, Boston; Matthew Dugan, Madison Park Technical Vocational High School, Boston.
Michigan: Brian Langley, Novi Senior High School, Novi; David Robinson, Randolph Career and Technical High School, Detroit.
Minnesota: Sharon Cormany Ornelas, Patrick Henry High School, Minneapolis; Thomas Tusken, Denfeld High School, Duluth.
Mississippi: Madeline Loftin, Wingfield High School, Jackson; Rachael McKinney, Brandon Middle School, Brandon.
Missouri: Sara Crump, Blue Springs High School, Blue Springs; Curtis James, Clayton High School, Clayton.
Montana: Angela McLean, Anaconda High School, Anaconda.
Nebraska: Emily Olesen, R.M. Marrs Magnet Center, Omaha.
Nevada: Ernest Ashby, Orr Middle School, Las Vegas; Valerie Fine, Wooster High School, Reno.
New Hampshire: Marina Capen, Souhegan High School, Amherst.
New Jersey: Jamal Dickerson, Creative Arts High School, Camden; James Gleason, Communications High School, Wall.
New Mexico: Jesus Trujillo, Hagerman High School, Hagerman.
North Carolina: Stuart Albright, C.E. Jordan High School, Durham.
North Dakota: Rhonda Grindy, Jim Hill Middle School, Minot.
Ohio: Maria Davis, John P. Parker School, Cincinnati; Darrell Yater, White Oak Middle School, Cincinnati.
Oklahoma: Dionne Liebl, Putnam City West High School, Oklahoma City; Shelly Unsicker, Central Junior High School, Moore.
Oregon: John O’Neill, Forest Grove High School, Forest Grove; Elisa Schorr, Pursuit of Wellness Education at Roosevelt High School, Portland.
Pennsylvania: Jill Dougherty, Springfield High School, Springfield; Michael Galbraith, Grover Washington Jr. Middle School, Philadelphia.
Rhode Island: Janine Napolitano, North Providence High School, North Providence.
South Carolina: Genia Webb, Lexington Middle School, Lexington; Eric Wilkinson, Sumter High School, Sumter.
South Dakota: Sherry Crofut, North Middle School, Rapid City.
Tennessee: Jonathon Rysewyk, Fulton High School, Knoxville.
Texas: Candelario Barragan, El Dorado High School, El Paso; Cynthia Carroll, Bowie High School, Austin; Melanie Lynn Chambers, Cedar Hill High School, Cedar Hill; Justin Singleton, Carver High School, Houston.
Utah: Jennifer Van Haaften, Butler Middle School, Salt Lake City.
Vermont: Susan Hennessey, Harwood Union High School, South Duxbury.
Virginia: Kimberly Colbert, Thompson Middle School, Richmond; Amy Macaleer, Battlefield High School, Haymarket.
Washington: Erin Jones, John Rogers High School, Spokane.
West Virginia: George Aulenbacher, Stonewall Jackson Middle School, Charleston.
Wisconsin: Megan Dixon, Greenfield Middle School, Greenfield.
Wyoming: Walt Wilcox, Dean Morgan High School, Casper.

Vol. 27

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on edweek.org, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories