News in Brief

Only Three Jurisdictions Apply for ESSA's Innovative Test Pilot

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Louisiana, New Hampshire, and Puerto Rico alone have officially submitted applications for the Every Student Succeeds Act's Innovative Assessment pilot, according to the U.S. Department of Education.

The pilot, which was initially one of the most buzzed-about pieces of ESSA, allows up to seven states to try out new forms of testing in a handful of districts, with the goal of eventually taking them statewide. More than a dozen states—including large ones like New York—mulled applying but ended up deciding against it.

The rules don't make participation easy. States must make sure the new tests are comparable to their state exam and are accessible to English-language learners and students in special education—all without additional financial resources.

Vol. 37, Issue 26, Page 4

Published in Print: April 11, 2018, as Only Three Jurisdictions Apply for ESSA's Innovative Test Pilot
Related Stories
Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories