News in Brief
Miss. Lawmaker Wants Fines for Schools That Skip Pledge
A Mississippi legislator has sponsored a bill that levies a $1,500 fine on any school that doesn't recite the Pledge of Allegiance within the first hour of class each school day.
Rep. William Shirley's update to the Mississippi Code of 1972 would tack on the fine for any "violation" of the code, although the Republican's bill says "any student or teacher who objects to reciting the oath of allegiance shall be excused from participating without penalty."
School districts found in violation would be required to pay the fine 30 days from the date of the notice of violation.
If approved, the bill would take effect July 1.
Vol. 36, Issue 18, Pages 4-5Published in Print: January 18, 2017, as Miss. Lawmaker Wants Fines for Schools That Skip Pledge