Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

A story in the Jan. 22, 2014, edition of Education Week on the revised GED and new alternatives provided inaccurate information on state participation. Forty states and the District of Columbia will offer the new General Educational Development certificate for now. Four of those states will also make available one or both of the new options—CTB's Test Assessing Secondary Completion, or TASC, and the Educational Testing Service's High School Equivalency Test, or HiSET. The remaining 10 states have dropped the GED and are exclusively offering either TASC or HiSET. In all, six states are offering TASC and 11 are offering HiSET.

Vol. 33, Issue 19, Page 5

Published in Print: January 29, 2014, as Correction
Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories