News in Brief

Seven States Chosen to Pilot Teacher-Prep Changes

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Seven states will overhaul their teacher-preparation and -licensing systems under a two-year pilot program created by the Council of Chief State School Officers, the group announced last week.

Connecticut, Georgia, Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, and Washington will be expected to raise admission standards, make licensure contingent on candidates' demonstration of specific skills, and overhaul their program-approval process.

States had to apply to join the pilot by submitting a plan outlining their proposed actions. In all, 15 applied; CCSSO officials made their choices on the basis of those plans. Each state will receive technical assistance, $100,000 during the first year, and a second-year amount contingent on progress.

Vol. 33, Issue 10, Page 4

Published in Print: October 30, 2013, as Seven States Chosen to Pilot Teacher-Prep Changes
Related Stories
Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories