News in Brief

K-12 Financial Literacy is Goal of Standards

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

The Council on Economic Education released financial-literacy standards for K-12 last week.

Developed by economists, education specialists at Federal Reserve banks, and financial-education researchers, the benchmarks are intended to provide a framework of essential knowledge that 4th, 8th, and 12th graders should master to be savvy financial consumers.

The National Standards for Financial Literacy for K-12 covers six topics: earning and income; buying goods and services; using credit; saving; financial investing; and protecting and insuring.

Each standard is an overarching statement of content, accompanied by age-appropriate benchmarks and material that is designed to apply to all socioeconomic groups.

Vol. 32, Issue 29, Page 5

Published in Print: April 24, 2013, as K-12 Financial Literacy Is Goal of Standards
Related Stories
Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories