News in Brief

Five New State Officials Join Jeb Bush's Chiefs for Change

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

A total of 10 state schools chiefs have signed on to Chiefs for Change, an effort led by former Florida Gov. Jeb Bush aimed at promoting new approaches to evaluating teachers, improving standards and testing, and fostering overall academic innovation.

The new members of the coalition, announced last week, are all new to the state superintendents job: Janet Barresi of Oklahoma, Stephen Bowen of Maine, Kevin Huffman of Tennessee, Chris Cerf of New Jersey, and Hanna Skandera of New Mexico, a former education aide to Mr. Bush in Florida. They Join Tony Bennett of Indiana, Deborah A. Gist of Rhode Island, Paul Pastorek of Louisiana, Gerard Robinson of Virginia, and Eric J. Smith of Florida, who recently announced that he intends to leave his state post.

Vol. 30, Issue 29, Pages 4-5

Published in Print: April 27, 2011, as Five New State Officials Join Jeb Bush's Chiefs for Change
Related Stories
Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories