News in Brief

Four Finalists Announced for 2011 Teacher of the Year

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

The Council of Chief State School Officers last week announced the four finalists for the 2011 National Teacher of the Year.

The winner, to be introduced this spring, follows 2010 Teacher of the Year Sarah Brown Wessling, an English teacher from Johnston, Iowa. The Teacher of the Year travels as a spokesperson and advocate for the teaching profession.

The four 2011 finalists are: Cheryl Conley, a 4th grade teacher at Osceola Magnet Elementary School in Vero Beach, Fla.; Annice M. Brave, an English and journalism teacher at Alton High School in Alton, Ill.; Michelle M. Shearer, a chemistry teacher at Urbana High School in Ijamsville, Md.; and Paul Andersen, a science teacher at Bozeman High School in Bozeman, Mont.

Vol. 30, Issue 17, Page 4

Published in Print: January 19, 2011, as Four Finalists Announced for 2011 Teacher of the Year
Related Stories
Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories