Grants Awarded

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Texas Teacher Grants

The First Choice Power Fund, a Las Colinas, Texas-based division of PNM Resources, an Albuquerque, N.M.-based energy company, has awarded $50,000 in grants to 23 Texas teachers in the First Choice Power Classroom Innovation Grants. The grants are given to promote creative teaching techniques among K-12 educators. Recipients include the following:

Kamala Bergeron, St. Mary Catholic School, League City; Melissa Buron, Epps Island Elementary School, Houston; Elizabeth Chapman, Westbrook Intermediate, Friendswood; Anne Cohea, Our Lady Queen of Peace Catholic School, Richwood; Nina Corley, Satori Elementary School, Galveston; Rosemary Cummings, Aubrey Middle School, Aubrey; Zacha Gregory, Clifton Elementary, Clifton; Debbie Grmela, Gatesville Primary School, Gatesville; Laura Haffelder, Our Lady Queen of Peace Catholic School, Richwood; Lisa Hicks, Challenger Elementary, Pearland; Robin Hillis, Walter Hall Elementary, League City; Joe Hirsch, Akiba Academy of Dallas, Dallas; Khindra Kent, Helen Edwards Early Childhood Center, Kaufman; Lucy Lara, Crockett Middle School, Pecos; Bobby Markle, Odyssey Academy, Galveston; Debbie McColloch, Grace School, Houston; Lauren McDaniel, Odyssey Academy, Galveston; Kristen McReynolds, Sweeny Junior High School, Sweeny; Sylvia Michaelis, Kermit Jr. High, Kermit; Dalaine Pittman, Angleton Middle School, Angleton; Catherine Ryan, Alvin High School, Alvin; Suzie Seibel, Whitney High School, Whitney; Carla Williams, Clifton High School, Clifton.

Vol. 27

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories