News in Brief

McGraw-Hill Awards Honor Three Global ‘Innovators’

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints

Three “innovators” with a special interest in global education—a high school teacher from the nation’s capital, a university president, and an official with a nonprofit educational organization—were named last week as winners of this year’s Harold W. McGraw Jr. Prize in Education.

Recipients of the $25,000 prizes, awarded annually by the New York City-based McGraw-Hill Cos., were: Lois B. DeFleur, the president of Binghampton University, the State University of New York; Reynauld Smith, a teacher at Eastern High School in Washington; and Vivien Stewart, the vice president for education at the Asia Society, a New York City educational organization.

McGraw-Hill officials lauded Ms. DeFleur for overseeing the implementation of innovative undergraduate programs “that encourage language education across the curriculum and dual-diploma programs with universities in several countries.”

Mr. Smith, who teaches social studies and Advanced Placement American history, won praise for incorporating the Model United Nations program into his classroom and taking students to the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Mexico, and Portugal.

Ms. Stewart was recognized for her work in promoting international education and the expansion of Chinese-language instruction in the United States, among other accomplishments.

Vol. 27, Issue 06, Pages 4-5

Published in Print: October 3, 2007, as McGraw-Hill Awards Honor Three Global ‘Innovators’

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories