Grants Awarded

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Financial Aid

The Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation, a nonprofit organization that provides financial aid and support to students in postsecondary education through the Federal Family Loan Program, has awarded $5.2 million in grants to 42 educational institutions and nonprofits around the country. The grant funding is intended to help first-generation college students, students from low-income families, and students who are underrepresented in higher education pay for a college education. The 2007 recipients are listed below:

District of Columbia: Council for Opportunity in Education/Pell Institute; National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators.
Florida: University of Central Florida, Orlando
Georgia: Middle Georgia Center for Academic Excellence, Macon.
Illinois: Family Centered Educational Agency, Inc., South Holland.
Michigan: Kalamazoo College, Kalamazoo.
Nebraska: University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln.
New Mexico: New Mexico State University, Las Cruces.
Ohio: Claymont City Schools, Uhrichsville; Cleveland Scholarship Programs, Inc., Cleveland; Edison State Community College, Piqua; National College Access Network, Cleveland; Ohio College Access Network, Columbus; Ohio Rehabilitation Services Commission, Columbus; Southern State Community College, Hillsboro; Stark Education Partnership, Inc., Canton; Ursuline College, Pepper Pike; Wilmington College, Wilmington.
Texas: College Forward, Austin; Northeast Lakeview College, San Antonio; Sam Houston State University, Huntsville; Schreiner University, Kerrville; South Texas College, McAllen; Southern Methodist University, Dallas; Southwest Key Programs, Austin; St. Edward’s University, Austin; Texas A&M University Agricultural Experiment Station, Edinburg; Texas A&M University System Health Science Center, Dallas; Texas A&M University-Kingsville, Kingsville; Texas Association of Developing Colleges, Dallas; Texas State Technical College, Harlingen; Texas Wesleyan University, Fort Worth; University of North Texas, Denton; University of North Texas Health Science Center, Fort Worth; University of Texas-Austin, Austin; University of Texas-Dallas, Dallas; University of Texas-El Paso, El Paso; University of Texas/Ray Marshall Center, Austin; University of Texas-San Antonio, San Antonio; University of Texas System, Austin; Vernon College, Vernon; Victoria College, Victoria.

Learning Programs

The Washington-based National Governors Association's Center for Best Practices announced that Arkansas, Delaware, Minnesota, Nebraska, and Oklahoma will each receive $10,000 in grants to assist with establishing a variety of learning programs. The grants will fund the Expanded Learning Opportunities curriculum, a NGA Center program for improving after-school care, summer learning, and extended day care programs. The grants will also help promote efforts to improve high school graduation rates and participation in postsecondary education.

Vol. 27

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories