Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints


Lumina Foundation

The Indianapolis-based Lumina Foundation for Education awarded $2.4 million in the first quarter of 2007 to 12 organizations in nine states and the District of Columbia to expand college access and student success. The 12 grants approved since January are listed below by state:

California: Silicon Valley Children’s Fund, San Jose.
Colorado: Colorado Community College System Foundation, Denver.
District of Columbia: Council on Foundations.
Indiana: Indiana University and Purdue University Indianapolis, Indianapolis; Trustees of Indiana University, Indianapolis.
Maine: Maine Community Foundation, Ellsworth.
New Mexico: National Institute for Native Leadership in Higher Education, Albuquerque; New Mexico Community Foundation, Santa Fe.
Ohio: Ohio Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators, Pepper Pike.
Pennsylvania: SouthEastern Pennsylvania Consortium for Higher Education, Aston.
Texas: Hispanic Association of Colleges & Universities, San Antonio.
Washington: University of Washington, Seattle.

NEA Grants

The NEA Foundation recently awarded the Drop Everything And Read Bookshelf Awards. This program awards $500 to public schools for the purchase of books and reading materials. Award recipients are below.

Alaska: College Gate Elementary School, Anchorage; Dillingham Elementary School, Dillingham; Houghtaling Elementary School, Ketchikan.
Alabama: Childersburg High School, Childersburg; Sparkman School, Hartselle.
Arkansas: Holcomb Elementary School, Fayetteville; Mildred Jackson Elementary School, Hughes.
Arizona: Music Mountain Jr./Sr. High School, Peach Springs;
California: Beaumont High School, Beaumont; Toby Johnson Middle School, Elk Grove; La Cumbre Junior High, Santa Barbara; Brooklyn Avenue School, Los Angeles; Jefferson Middle School, Oceanside; San Pasqual Academy, Escondido; Buena Vista Elementary, San Francisco.
Colorado: Prairie Middle School, Aurora; George Washington High School, Denver; Schenck Elementary School, Denver.
Connecticut: Burr District Elementary School, Higganum.
District of Columbia: Marie H. Reed Elementary School.
Florida: Southside Elementary School, Crestview; Thacker Avenue Elementary School, Kissimmee; South Olive Elementary, West Palm Beach; Kernan Trail Elementary, Jacksonville; Hyde Grove Elementary, Jacksonville.
Georgia: Eastway Elementary, Columbus; K. Boston Elementary, Woodstock; Cross Creek Elementary, Thomasville;
Hawaii: Mililani High School, Mililani; Pahoa High and Intermediate School, Pahoa.
Illinois: L.D. Brady Elementary, Aurora
Indiana: Maconaquah High School, Bunker Hill; Concord Junior High, Elkhart;
Iowa: Monroe ElementarySchool, Davenport.
Kansas: Atchison County Community Schools, Effingham.
Kentucky: Kathryn Winn Primary, Carrollton; Eastside Elementary, Cynthiana.
Louisiana: Oaklawn Jr. High, Houma.
Maryland: Belvedere Elementary, Arnold; Callaway Elementary, Baltimore; Forest Ridge Elementary, Laurel; High Bridge Elementary, Bowie.
Michigan: Kent Educational Center Oakleigh, Grand Rapids; Grogan Elementary, Southgate; Britton-Macon Area School, Britton.
Minnesota: Ashby Public School, Ashby; Oak View Elementary, Maple Grove; Capitol Hill Magnet, St. Paul.
Missouri: Meadowlark Elementary, Chinook; Godfrey Elementary, Wyoming.
Montana: Hamilton Middle School, Hamilton.
Nebraska: Scribner-Snyder Community School, Scribner.
New Jersey: Anna C. Scott Elementary, Leonia; Columbus School, Carteret.
New York: Leadership Village Academy, New York; McKinley High School, Buffalo; Casey Park Elementary, Auburn; Emerson School of Hospitality, Buffalo; Union Pleasant Elementary School, Hamburg; P.S. 291, New York City; P.S. 3, New York City.
North Carolina: Elizabethtown Middle School, Elizabethtown; Randolph Learning Center, Asheville; Gatesville Elementary School, Gatesville; Northwoods Park Middle School, Jacksonville;
North Dakota: Wilder Elementary School, Grand Forks.
Ohio: Arlington Park Elementary, Columbus; Lakota Ridge Junior High, West Chester; Cleveland Heights High School-Transition Program, Cleveland Heights.
Oklahoma: Stillwater Middle School, Stillwater.
Oregon: Redmond High School-Hartman Campus, Redmond; Harvey Clarke Elementary, Forest Grove.
Pennsylvania: Norristown Area High School, Norristown; Logan Elementary School, Altoona; Oil City Area High School, Oil City.
South Carolina: Northwestern High School, Rock Hill; Westminster Middle School, Westminster.
Tennessee: Bradley Academy, Murfreesboro; Winridge Elementary, Memphis; Lakeview Design Center, Antioch.
Texas: Edward Titche Elementary, Dallas; Wharton Elementary, Houston; Buda Elementary, Buda; Bryan Elementary, Mission; Jane Long Elementary, Freeport; Albert Farine Elementary, Irvine.
Utah:Wendover Junior/Senior High School, Wendover.
Virginia: Stanley Elementary, Stanley; William Ramsay Elementary, Alexandria; Sugarland Elementary, Sterling.
Vermont: Bristol Elementary, Bristol.
Washington: Wickersham School of Discovery, Buckley; Key Peninsula Middle School, Lakebay; Orca at Columbia Elementary School, Seattle; Snohomish Freshman Campus, Snohomish.
Wisconsin: Tiffany Creek Elementary, Boyceville; Fairview Elementary School, Milwaukee; Lincoln Elementary School, Rice Lake.
West Virginia: Riverside High School, Belle; Blackshere Elementary School, Mannington.

Verizon Foundation

The philanthropic arm of the New York City-based Verizon Communications has awarded a three-year, $31 million grant to, the foundation’s online source of educational resources such as lesson plans, professional development for teachers, and literacy materials.

Summer Youth Initiative

The Flint, Mich.-based Genesee Chamber Foundation recently announced a grant of $765,800 from the Charles Stewart Mott Foundation, also in Flint, for the 2007 Summer Youth Initiative. The grant will help local nonprofit groups offer paid seasonal employment opportunities to Flint-area teens. The work will consist of recreational and educational programs for children, beautification projects, and home construction. The youths in the program will also volunteer with community service projects and receive career and leadership training.

Kellogg Foundation

The W. K. Kellogg Foundation, based in Battle Creek, Mich., recently announced two significant education-related grants. The Hawaii P-20 Initiative, a collaborative effort between community organizations and state education entities, will receive $10 million for a new initiative to help every third-grader in Hawaii read at grade level by 2015.

The Foundation also awarded $191,000 to support a partnership with Teachers College, Columbia University to support school nutrition programs.


Toyota Motor Sales U.S.A., Inc. recently recognized 82 science teachers from across the country with $550,000 in grants via the Toyota TAPESTRY: Grants for Science Teachers program. Of the grantees, 50 teachers received large grants of up to $10,000 each and 32 received mini-grants of up to $2,500 each.

African-American Scholarship Fund

The Los Angeles-based California Community Foundation established a $1.75 million scholarship fund for African-American freshmen admitted to the University of California, Los Angeles. The fund will cover loans and work-study costs and provide merit-based awards for up to 100 eligible students.

Early-childhood literacy

The Boston Scientific Foundation awarded $20,000 to the Multisensory Training Institute in Needham, Mass., to train public school teachers in the area in early-childhood literacy education.

Vol. 26, Issue 34, Page 38

Published in Print: April 25, 2007, as Grants

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories