Honors & Awards

Honors & Awards

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints

Child-Care Awards

The Terri Lynne Lokoff Child Care Foundation, based in King of Prussia, Pa., recently announced its 2007 National Child-Care Teacher of the Year awards. The national winners—who each received a $1,000 cash prize—are listed below by state.

Alabama: Rochelle Richardson, Mobile.

California: Reina Medrano, Fresno; Tamara Thompson, Santa Barbara.

Connecticut: Marisol Rodriguez, Hamden.

Florida: Tammy Schrader, Daytona Beach.

Iowa: Darci Cronin, Clive; Janet Everts, Waterloo; Brandy Melton, Norwalk; Joanne Ticknor, Urbandale.

Illinois: Shirley Bloom, Mattoon.

Louisiana: Selena Perry, Barksdale.

Maryland: Bridgette Grab Lawrence, California.

Michigan: Joanne duBois Sweedyk, Grand Rapids; Kim Orseske, Delton.

Minnesota: Julie Kauffmann, Chaska; Margaret Mahowald, Golden Valley.

Missouri: Linda Vandepopuliere, Columbia.

North Carolina: Jennifer Anderson, Jamestown; Maggi Bailey, Asheville; Kathy Hasty, Asheboro; Patricia Sloan, Shelby.

New Hampshire: Debra Barach, Meredith.

New Jersey: Jessica Sollien, Rumson.

New York: Tina Caldwell, Cortland; Debra Cashion, Islandia; Judith Corino, Canandaigua; Rose McCabe, Apalachin.

Ohio: Theresa Roehrig, Cincinnati; Andrea Sanford, Toledo.

Oklahoma: Tonya Davidson, Tulsa.

Pennsylvania: Susan Alvarado, Enola; Heather Cohen, Philadelphia; Tricia Conver, Lansdale; Amy Goding, Pittsburgh; Allison Hynes, Fort Washington; Eileen Jimenez, Philadelphia; Anita Lieberman, Philadelphia; Roxanne Locicero, Pittsburgh; Christina Lynch, Lansdale; Sandra Jo McConnell, Wexford; Kathryn McCorry, Philadelphia; Colleen McGranaghan, Red Lion; Niana Milburn, Wallingford; Heather Miller, York; Trista Moyer, Harleysville; Barry Muser, Shrewsbury; Debbie Rypinski, Bensalem; Jodi Skelly, New Kensington.

Texas: Karen Freeland, Austin

Utah: Shauntell Kanigan, Orem.

Virginia: Vicki Lucas, Harrisonburg.

Washington: Samantha Carterby, Richland.

Wisconsin: Edna Darling, Sun Prairie; Deborah Kichefski, Appleton.

Exploratorium Awards

On April 4, the San Francisco-based Exploratorium will honor leaders in science, technology, and education. Carol Bartz, the executive chairman of the board of Autodesk, Inc, will receive the Director’s Award; Natalie Angier, a science writer for the New York Times, will receive the Public Understanding of Science Award; and Kenneth Miller, a professor of biology at Brown University, and Eugenie C. Scott, the executive director of the National Center for Science Education, Inc., will each receive the Outstanding Educator Award.

2007 National Assistant Principal of the Year

Patricia Buschjost, an assistant principal at Loveland High School in Loveland, Colo., was named the National Association of Secondary School Principals’ 2007 National Assistant Principal of the Year at the NASSP’s annual convention in Las Vegas. Ms. Buschjost received $5,000 to use in her school or for professional-development purposes.

AASA Awards

The Arlington, Va.-based American Association of School Administrators recently gave out several awards. Krista Parent, the superintendent of the South Lane School District in Cottage Grove, Ore., was named the 2007 National Superintendent of the Year. She received a $2,000 savings bond and a student at her high school alma mater will receive a $10,000 scholarship. Carol Johnson, the superintendent of the Memphis, Tenn., city schools, received the Administrator Award for Distinguished Support of Music Education. Service Through Active Rotarians and Students (STARS), a service-learning program designed to motivate students to stay in school, has been named the 2007 National Civic Star Award winner. The program was developed and sponsored by the Rotary Club of Fort Worth in conjunction with the Fort Worth Independent School District. Fort Worth Independent School District will receive $10,000—$5,000 for the STARS program and $5,000 for the district’s scholarship fund. Benjamin Canada, the associate executive director of district services for the Texas Association of School Boards, and Arthur Stellar, the superintendent of the Taunton, Mass., Public Schools, received the 2007 Dr. Effie H. Jones Humanitarian Award. The award recognizes AASA members who exemplify the professional qualities modeled by the late Effie Hall Jones, a champion of women and minorities in educational leadership. Finally, former U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor received the American Education Award for her dedication to education and civic learning.

National Governors Association

The National Governors Association awarded the Ford Motor Company with the NGA Public-Private Partnership Award for the company’s work in education and development of the Ford Partnership for Advanced Studies program. The Ford PAS program provides interdisciplinary learning to 10,000 high school students across the country through partnerships with public education, community organizations, local businesses, and universities.

Vol. 26, Issue 27, Page 38

Published in Print: March 14, 2007, as Honors & Awards

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories





Sponsor Insights

Free Ebook: How to Implement a Coding Program in Schools

Successful Intervention Builds Student Success

Effective Ways to Support Students with Dyslexia

Stop cobbling together your EdTech

Integrate Science and ELA with Informational Text

Can self-efficacy impact growth for ELLs?

Disruptive Tech Integration for Meaningful Learning

Building Community for Social Good

5 Resources on the Power of Interoperability from Unified Edtech

New campaign for UN World Teachers Day

5 Game-Changers in Today’s Digital Learning Platforms

Hiding in Plain Sight - 7 Common Signs of Dyslexia in the Classroom

The research: Reading Benchmark Assessments

Shifting Mindsets: A Guide for Training Paraeducators to Think Differently About Challenging Behavior

All Students Are Language Learners: The Imagine Learning Language Advantage™

Shifting Mindsets: A Guide for Training Paraeducators to Think Differently About Challenging Behavior

How to Support All Students with Equitable Pathways

2019 K-12 Digital Content Report

3-D Learning & Assessment for K–5 Science

Climate Change, LGBTQ Issues, Politics & Race: Instructional Materials for Teaching Complex Topics

Closing the Science Achievement Gap

Evidence-based Coaching: Key Driver(s) of Scalable Improvement District-Wide

Advancing Literacy with Large Print

Research Sheds New Light on the Reading Brain

Tips for Supporting English Learners Through Personalized Approaches

Response to Intervention Centered on Student Learning

The Nonnegotiable Attributes of Effective Feedback

SEE MORE Insights >