Honors & Awards

Honors & Awards

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints

NEA Foundation Awards:

The National Education Association Foundation

honored the recipients of the 2007 I CAN Learn–NEA Foundation Awards for Teaching Excellence at the foundation’s 12th Annual Salute to Excellence in Education Gala on Feb. 8. They were each nominated for the honor by their NEA state affiliates and received funding to attend the gala from I CAN Learn Education Systems. The honorees are:

Alabama: Dori T. Sippial, Montgomery County Education Association.

Arizona: Donald Jay Stanforth, Flowing Wells Education Association.

California: Liane Cismowski, Mount Diablo Education Association.

Colorado: Adele Bravo, Boulder Valley Education Association.

Connecticut: Elizabeth Sugden, Region 16 Education Association.

Delaware: Garrett Lydic, Laurel Education Association.

Florida: Trent Daniel, Seminole Education Association.

Hawaii: Margaret Hoy, Kohala Chapter.

Idaho: Lois Gene Sutton, Midvale Education Association.

Illinois: Anita A. Grundy, Taylorville Education Association.

Indiana: Teresa Meredith, Shelbyville Central Teachers’ Association.

Iowa: Jackie Rae Warnstadt, Sioux City Education Association.

Kansas: Roxie Peterson, Wamego Teacher’s Association.

Kentucky: Ruth Ann Sweazy, Spencer County Education Association.

Louisiana: Joel Hilbun, Lafayette Parish Association of Educators.

Maine: Mary C. McCarthy, Kennebunk/Kennebunkport Educators Association.

Maryland: Kimberly Cherise Oliver, Montgomery County Education Association.

Massachusetts: Kathleen M. Keane, Foxborough Education Association.

Michigan: Scott Rolando, Huron Valley Education Association.

Minnesota: Nyssa Maria Brown, Park Association of Teachers.

Missouri: Girard B. Thornton, Jr., Francis Howell Education Association NEA.

Montana: Debra Jeanne Biegel, Bozeman Education Association.

Nevada: J-Petrina McCarty-Puhl, Washoe Education Association.

New Jersey: Robert Goodman, Bergen County Voc-Tech Schools EA.

New Mexico: RJ Mirabal, NEA-Los Lunas.

New York: Lisa Beckerink, Jamestown Teachers Association.

North Carolina: James A. Brooks, Wilkes County Association of Educators.

North Dakota: Joan Nelson, Fargo Education Association.

Ohio: William R. Shriver, The Mount Vernon Education Association.

Oklahoma: Ginger R. Mendenhall, Ponca City ACT.

Pennsylvania: Pamela Sime, Central Bucks Education Association.

South Dakota: Barbara Desnoyers, Clark Education Association.

Tennessee: Mary Tracy L. Hoilman, Johnson City Education Association

Texas: Karen Shepherd, Plano Education Association.

Utah: Joan S. Heap, Ogden Education Association.

Vermont: Douglas Wehner, Lamoille UHS E.A.

Virginia: Virginia E. Neil, Highland County Education Association.

Washington: Vicki Frei, Clarkston Classified Association.

Wisconsin: Diane W. Doersch, Neenah Education Association.

Department of Defense Education Activity: Yvonne H. Brown, American Education Association of Okinawa (AEAO).

Fordham Foundation

The Washington-based Thomas B. Fordham Foundation announced the winners of its 2007 Prizes for Excellence in Education. Each award carries a $25,000 cash prize.

Paul T. Hill, the director of the Center on Reinventing Public Education at the University of Washington; Abigail Thernstrom, the vice-chairwoman of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights; and Stephan Thernstrom, a Winthrop Professor of History at Harvard University, were jointly awarded the Fordham Prize for Distinguished Scholarship.

Kati Haycock, the founder and director of the Education Trust, received the Fordham Prize for Valor.

Schott Awards

The Cambridge, Mass.-based Schott Foundation for Public Education is recognizing three high schools for improving achievement among their African-American male students. Brush High School in the South Euclid-Lyndhurst, Ohio, school district; Elmont Memorial High School in the Sewanhaka, N.Y. district; and the Frederick Douglass Academy in New York City are the winners of the Schott Awards for Excellence in the Education of African-American Male Students. Each school will receive a $10,000 scholarship to give to a male African-American graduating senior.

Vol. 26, Issue 23, Page 36

Published in Print: February 14, 2007, as Honors & Awards

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories