News in Brief: A Washington Roundup

NAGB Gets 4 New Members; 4 Others Are Reappointed

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints

Secretary of Education Margaret Spellings announced last week the appointment of four new members to the National Assessment Governing Board. The 26-member panel develops policy for the National Assessment of Educational Progress, also known as “the nation’s report card.”

The new members began serving three-year terms on Oct. 1. They are Robin C. Hall, the principal of Beecher Hills Elementary School in the 51,000-student Atlanta school district; James S. Lanich, the president of California Business for Education Excellence, an advocacy organization based in Sacramento, Calif.; Alan J. Friedman, the director of the New York Hall of Science, a hands-on technology learning center in New York City; and Cynthia Nava, a Democratic state senator in New Mexico.

The secretary also reappointed four current board members to four-year terms:

Darvin M. Winick, the president of Winick and Associates, a consulting firm based in Austin, Texas; Amanda P. Avallone, an assistant principal and teacher at Summit Middle School in the 27,000-student Boulder Valley school district in Colorado; Kim Kozbial-Hess, a teacher at Hawkins Elementary School in the 36,000-student Toledo, Ohio, school district; and Oscar Troncoso, the principal of Socorro High School in the 38,000-student Socorro Independent School District in El Paso, Texas.

Vol. 26, Issue 09, Page 32

Published in Print: October 25, 2006, as NAGB Gets 4 New Members; 4 Others Are Reappointed
Related Stories

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories