Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints

See our NEW grants section for frequent updates on grants available for educators, administrators, policymakers, and researchers.

Grants Awarded

Annenberg Foundation

New Visions for Public Schools, a New York City-based nonprofit education reform organization, has received an 8-year, $20 million grant from the Radnor, Pa.-based Annenberg Foundation. The grant will be used to create the Walter and Leonore Annenberg Fund for Small School Advancement, which will fund projects that strengthen and sustain small schools in New York City.

Barbara Bush Foundation

The Barbara Bush Foundation for Family Literacy announced last month that it had awarded over $600,000 in grants to support 10 programs that work to improve the literacy skills of parents and their children. The recipients are listed below:

Alameda County Office of Education, Hayward, Calif.; Bartlesville Public Schools, Bartlesville, Okla.; College of DuPage, Glen Ellyn, Ill.; Communities in Schools of Laurens County Inc, Dublin, Ga.; Fluvanna County Public Schools, Palmyra, Va.; LAUSD/Division of Adult Career and Education, Huntington Park/Bell Community Adult School, Huntington Park, Calif.; Louisiana Public Broadcasting, Baton Rouge, La.; Mother’s Club Community Center, Pasadena, Calif.; Rochester Public Schools, Rochester, Minn.; YWCA of Greater Baton Rouge, Baton Rouge, La.

Health Grants

Forty-seven elementary schools across the country have received grants from the Atlanta-based Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Foundation and the Kent, Ohio-based American School Health Association to improve their physical education and nutrition policies and programs. The grants were made possible by a $300,000 grant to the CDC Foundation from Cargill, a Minneapolis-based producer of food, agricultural, and risk-management products.

Following is a list of grant recipients:

Arizona: Gallego Basic Elementary School, Tucson; Los Ranchitos Elementary School, Tucson.

Arkansas: Magness Creek Elementary School, Cabot.

California: Davidson Elementary School, San Bernardino; DeAnza Elementary School, Baldwin Park; Glenoaks Elementary School, Glendale; Ranchito Elementary School, Los Angeles.

Florida: Jefferson Elementary School, Monticello.

Georgia: Bells Ferry Elementary School, Marietta; Marshpoint Elementary School, Savannah.

Idaho: Valley View Elementary School, Bonners Ferry.

Illinois: Carruthuers Elementary School, Murphysboro; Denkmann Elementary School, Rock Island; North Intermediate School of Education, Mt. Carmel.

Indiana: St. Joseph School, LaPorte.

Louisiana: R.J. Vial Elementary School, Paradis.

Michigan: Patterson Elementary School, Tecumseh.

Massachusetts: George Keverian School, Everett.

Minnesota: Maxfield Magnet Elementary School, St. Paul; Ramsey Elementary School, Montevideo; Roosevelt Elementary School, Willmar; Whittier Elementary School, Brainerd.

Montana: Independent Elementary School, Billings.

Nebraska: Alpha Public School, Chadron.

New York: Dalton Elementary School, Nunda;Elden Elementary School, Baldwinsville; Elias Howe Elementary School, New York City; Minnesauke Elementary School, East Setauket; Thomas Jefferson Magnet School, Utica.

North Carolina: Joseph W. Grier Academy, Charlotte.

Ohio: Cedar Heights Elementary School, Lancaster; Central Intermediate School, Wadsworth; DeWitt Elementary School, Cuyahoga Falls; Mineral City Elementary School, Mineral City; Monac Elementary School, Toledo; O.R. Edgington Elementary School, Englewood; Ridgedale Elementary School, Morral; Summit Academy Community School for Alternative Learners, Painesville; Walter Kidder Elementary School, Brunswick.

Oklahoma: Westwood Elementary School, Stillwater.

Pennsylvania: Pennsylvania Leadership Charter School, West Chester.

Tennessee: Fall-Hamilton Enhanced Option School, Nashville; Hickory Creek Elementary School, McMinnville; Madisonville Intermediate School, Madisonville.

Texas: Liberty Christian School, Argyle.

Virginia: High Point Elementary School, Bristol.

Wisconsin: St. Margaret Mary Catholic Elementary School, Neenah.

Irvine Foundation

The San Francisco-based James Irvine Foundation recently announced a $6 million commitment to establish a statewide educational center in California. ConnectEd: the California Center for College and Career, based in Berkeley, will help develop rigorous high school curricula that reflects the needs of the state’s diverse student population and connects academics with career opportunities.

In addition, the Foundation pledged $725,000 to WestEd, a San Francisco-based nonprofit research and development organization. The grant will support an initiative to improve instruction in five San Jose high schools with large percentages of English-language learners.

Kauffman Foundation

The Kansas City, Mo.-based Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation has pledged $15 million to 13 school districts in the Kansas City metropolitan area over the next three years. The grants, ranging from $600,000 to $1.5 million, will be used to strengthen mathematics and science programs in the following districts:

Archdiocese of Kansas City, Kansas City, Kan.; Archdiocese of Kansas City-St. Joseph, Kansas City, Mo.; Hickman Mills C-1 School District, Kansas City, Mo.; Kansas City Missouri School District; Liberty Public School District #53, Liberty, Mo.; North Kansas City School District, Kansas City, Mo.; Raytown C-2 School District, Raytown, Mo.; Unified School District 229, Overland Park, Kan.; Unified School District 230, Spring Hill, Kan.; Unified School District 232, DeSoto, Kan.; Unified School District 233, Olathe, Kan.; Unified School District 500, Kansas City, Kan.; West Platte R-11 School District, Weston, Mo.

Laura Bush Foundation

The Laura Bush Foundation for America’s Libraries has announced the first-round recipients of grants from its Gulf Coast School Library Recovery Initiative fund. The $500,000 in grants awarded support the rebuilding of Gulf Coast school libraries that were destroyed or severely damaged by Hurricanes Katrina, Rita, or Wilma. The winners are listed below:

Andrew Jackson Elementary and Middle School, Chalmette, La.; Chalmette High School, Chalmette, La.; Gorenflo Elementary, Biloxi, Miss.; North Bay Elementary School, Bay St. Louis, Miss.; Our Lady of Lourdes Elementary School, Slidell, La.; Our Lady of Prompt Succor Central School, Chalmette, La.; Second Street Elementary, Bay St. Louis, Miss.; Seventh Ward Elementary, Abbeville, La.; St. Mary’s Academy, New Orleans; St. Tammany Jr. High School, Slidell, La.

NEA Foundation

The NEA Foundation, based in Washington, has awarded a $250,000 grant to the Seattle Public Schools. The grant, which can be renewed every year for an additional four years, requires the school system to close the achievement gaps for minority and disadvantaged students by 2011. This is the third time that the foundation has issued a grant of this kind.

Vol. 25, Issue 37, Page 35

Published in Print: May 17, 2006, as Grants

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories