People in the News

'Fordham Prizes for Excellence' Winners

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints

The Washington-based Thomas B. Fordham Foundation was scheduled to announce the winners of the third annual Fordham Prizes for Excellence in Education this week. Each award carries a cash prize of $25,000.

The three winners are:

John E. Brandl

John E. Brandl, 67, a professor of economics at the Hubert H. Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities. He also served as the dean of the institute from 1997 to 2002.

Mr. Brandl is the author of the book Money and Good Intentions Are Not Enough, which makes the case for more competition and choice in public policy, especially in education.

He is sharing the $25,000 Prize for Valor with another Fordham winner.

Marion Joseph

Marion Joseph, 78, served as the California state superintendent of public instruction from 1970 to 1982, and was appointed in 1997 by then-Gov. Gray Davis to the state board of education, where she served until her retirement last year.

Ms. Joseph is credited with helping to overhaul the statewide reading curriculum, and institute California’s current academic standards in six subjects.

She is the other co-winner of the Prize for Valor.

Terry M. Moe, 55, is the recipient of the Fordham Prize for Distinguished Scholarship.

Mr. Moe is a senior fellow at the Hoover Institution, a public-policy research center based at Stanford University in Stanford, Calif.

He is a member of the institution’s Koret Task Force on K-12 Education, and has written several books on how politics and education interact, particularly in the area of school choice.

Vol. 24, Issue 14, Page 5

Published in Print: December 1, 2004, as 'Fordham Prizes for Excellence' Winners

Back to Top Back to Top

This story incorrectly stated Marion Joseph’s position in California from 1970 to 1982. She served as the state superintendent’s executive assistant during that time.

Most Popular Stories