News in Brief: A Washington Roundup

Bush Awards Medals in the Humanities

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints

Educator Marva N. Collins, whose life became the subject of a television movie, and the author Madeleine L’Engle, who is famed for her books for young people, are among the recipients of the National Humanities Medal. President Bush honored Ms. Collins and others at a Nov. 17 ceremony in the Oval Office. Ms. L’Engle was represented by her granddaughter.

Ms. Collins started out as a teacher in Chicago’s public schools, but became disillusioned and opened a private school. She gained national attention for unusual success with students whom others had labeled “unteachable,’’ including children with disabilities.

Ms. Collins adopted back-to-basics teaching methods such as memorization.

Ms. L’Engle has written numerous science fiction and fantasy novels, including books on time travel, coming of age, and suspense and mystery themes, for young people. She has also written mainstream adult novels, poetry, and plays.

Her best-known book is the children’s classic A Wrinkle in Time, published in 1962.

Vol. 24, Issue 13, Page 28

Published in Print: November 24, 2004, as Bush Awards Medals in the Humanities

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories