‘Online Oscars’ Ask Schools to Compete for Honors

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints

For the first time, K-12 schools and students can enter their Web sites to compete for a Webby Award, one of the most coveted honors for online media.

The awards, nicknamed the “Online Oscars,” are sponsored by the International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences, based in New York City. The worldwide competition is in its ninth year and has 65 categories. Thirty-five of those categories are new.

“Over the years, we kept hearing from schools who wanted the chance to compete,” Tiffany Shlain, the founder and creative director of the Webby Awards, said in a statement.

The deadline for 2004 entries is Dec. 17.

More information about the awards program is available from the Webby Awards.

Vol. 24, Issue 08, Page 6

Published in Print: October 20, 2004, as ‘Online Oscars’ Ask Schools to Compete for Honors

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories