Extensions Affect Regions Differently

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Federal data show that many school districts in the Midwest, West, and Great Plains will be given extra years to meet teacher-quality requirements under the No Child Left Behind Act. Most rural districts in those states meet the definition of “rural” cited in the regulations. In contrast, most rural and small-town districts in the Southeast will not receive the extension. Here’s a sampling of how different states are affected by the regulations.

West/Midwest Extension-Eligible Districts Ineligible Districts
Illinois 276 28
Iowa 164 0
Kansas 164 8
Michigan 138 20
Minnesota 134 4
Missouri 255 82
Montana 375 17
Nebraska 440 0
North Dakota 186 2
Ohio 45 36
Oklahoma 348 130
South Dakota 135 1
Texas 523 106
Wisconsin 129 3
Alabama 0 58
Florida 1 23
Georgia 8 87
Kentucky 10 74
Louisiana 4 38
Mississippi 8 98
North Carolina 27 42
South Carolina 0 29
Tennessee 3 43
Virginia 4 17
West Virginia 1 36

SOURCE: Rural School and Community Trust, with data from the U.S. Department of Education

Vol. 23, Issue 43, Page 13

Published in Print: July 28, 2004, as Extensions Affect Regions Differently
Related Stories
Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on edweek.org, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories