Medicaid-Ready States

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Just 21 states have plans approved by the federal government for submission of Medicaid claims related to special education medical costs. Another seven states have such plans pending before the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services for approval. The plans establish procedures for collecting the reimbursement. Without such plans, schools run the risk of losing out on Medicaid money by filing claims improperly.

These states have approved plans: Alaska, Arizona, California, Florida, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Texas, Washington, and Wisconsin.

These states have plans pending for review by the CMS: Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina, and Utah.

SOURCE: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

Vol. 21, Issue 34, Page 22

Published in Print: May 8, 2002, as Medicaid-Ready States
Related Stories
Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories