The Newest Senators

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

The Newest Senators
The freshman class for the 107th Congress will include at least 10 new senators. The Senate race in Washington state between Republican incumbent Slade Gorton and Democrat Maria Cantwell was still in dispute as of press time last week.
Incoming Outgoing
George F. Allen, R-Va. Charles S. Robb, D-Va. (Defeated)
Jean Carnahan, D-Mo.* John Ashcroft, R-Mo. (Defeated)
Thomas R. Carper, D-Del. William V. Roth, Jr., R-Del. (Defeated)
Hillary Rodham Clinton, D- N.Y. Daniel Patrick Moynihan, D-N.Y. (Retired)
Jon Corzine, D-N.J. Frank Lautenberg, D-N.J. (Retired)
Mark Dayton, D-Minn. Rod Grams, R-Minn. (Defeated)
John Ensign, R-Nev. Richard H. Bryan, D-Nev. (Retired)
Ben Nelson, D-Neb. Bob Karrey, D-Neb. (Retired)
Bill Nelson, D-Fla. Connie Mack, R-Fla. (Retired)
Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich. Spencer Abraham, R-Mich. (Defeated)
* The Senate seat in Missouri was won by the late Gov. Mel Carnahan; the acting governor has promised to appoint Ms. Carnahan in her husband's place. Her term will expire in two years. 

Vol. 20, Issue 13, Page 21

Published in Print: November 29, 2000, as The Newest Senators
Related Stories
Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories