How Education Committee Members Fared

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

All five members of the Senate education panel who were up for re-election won their races. On the House side, only one member had definitively lost his re- election bid at press time. One race was too close to call.

Jump to House committee results.

Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions
(18 members)
Republicans Democrats
James M. Jeffords, Vt., chairman * Edward M. Kennedy, Mass., ranking member
Judd Gregg, N.H. Christopher J. Dodd, Conn.
Bill Frist, Tenn. Tom Harkin, Iowa
Mike DeWine, Ohio Barbara A. Mikulski, Md.
Michael B. Enzi, Wyo. Jeff D. Bingaman, N.M.
Tim Hutchinson, Ark. Paul Wellstone, Minn.
Susan Collins, Maine Patty Murray, Wash.
Sam Brownback, Kan. Jack Reed, R.I.
Chick Hagel, Neb.
Jeff Sessions, Ala.

Red indicates members re- elected.
(Only five members were up for re-election.)

Red indicates members re- elected.

Committee on Education and the Workforce
(49 members and one vacancy)



*William F. Goodling , R-Pa., chairman
Thomas E. Petri, Wis., vice chairman *William (Bill) Clay, Mo., ranking member
Marge Roukema, N.J. George Miller, Calif.
Cass Ballenger, N.C. Dale E. Kildee, Mich.
*Bill Barrett, Neb. Major R. Owens, N.Y.
John A. Boehner, Ohio Donald M. Payne, N.J.
Peter Hoekstra, Mich. Patsy T. Mink, Hawaii
Howard P. "Buck" McKeon, Calif. Robert E. Andrews, N.J.
Michael N. Castle, Del. Tim Roemer, Ind.
Sam Johnson, Texas Robert C. Scott, Va.
*James M. Talent, Mo. defeated Lynn C. Woolsey, Calif.
James C. Greenwood, Pa. Carlos A. Romero- Barceló, Puerto Rico2defeated
Lindsey O. Graham, S.C. Chaka Fattah, Pa.
Mark E. Souder, Ind. Ruben Hinojosa, Texas
*David M. McIntosh, Ind. Carolyn McCarthy, N.Y.
Charlie Norwood, Ga. John F. Tierney, Mass.
Ron Paul, Texas Ron Kind, Wis.
Bob Schaffer, Colo. Loretta Sanchez, Calif.
Fred Upton, Mich. Harold E. Ford, Jr., Tenn.
Nathan Deal, Ga. Dennis J. Kucinich, Ohio
Van Hilleary, Tenn. David Wu, Ore.
Vernon J. Ehlers, Mich. Rush D. Holt, N.J.3undeclared
*Matt Salmon, Ariz. VACANT SEAT
Tom Tancredo, Colo.
Ernie Fletcher, Ky.
Jim DeMint, S.C.
Johnny Isakson, Ga.
Matthew G. Martinez, Calif.1, Ga.
1Rep. Martinez lost in the Democratic primary earlier this year. He later switched parties.
2Delegate Romero-Barcelo lost his re-election bid.
3A winner had not been declared in this race as of press time.

Vol. 20, Issue 11, Page 28

Published in Print: November 15, 2000, as How Education Committee Members Fared
Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories