Honors & Awards

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints


Thirty-four middle schools and 32 high schools were named National Service-Learning Leader Schools this month. The award recognizes outstanding service-learning programs, which combine academics with community service. The honorees are listed below by state.

Alabama. Academy for Science and Foreign Language, Huntsville. California. Eureka Senior High School, Eureka; Irvington High School, Fremont. Delaware. Howard High School of Technology, Wilmington. Florida. Wakulla Middle School, Crawfordville; Neptune Middle School, Kissimmee; Bay High School, Panama City; Taylor County High School, Perry; Coral Shores High School, Tavernier.

Hawaii. Waiakea High School, Hilo; Punahou School, Honolulu; President George Washington Middle School, Honolulu. Iowa. Bettendorf High School, Bettendorf. Illinois. Resurrection High School, Chicago; Field Middle School, Northbrook. Indiana. Paoli Senior High School, Paoli. Kentucky. Warren Central High School, Bowling Green; North Laurel Middle School, London; East Jessamine Middle School, Nicholasville.

Massachusetts. Tantasqua Regional Junior High School, Fiskdale; Wareham High School, Wareham; Wareham Middle School, Wareham. Maine. Phillips Middle School, Phillips. Michigan. Lahser High School, Bloomfield Hills; Romulus High School, Romulus. Missouri. Fulton Academy, Fulton. Mississippi. Tupelo Middle School, Tupelo. Montana. Chief Joseph Middle School, Bozeman; Lewistown Junior High School, Lewistown.

North Carolina. Ramsey Street Alternative Middle School, Fayetteville; Ferndale Middle School, High Point; Piedmont High School, Monroe. New Hampshire, Woodbury Middle School, Salem; Woodsville High School, Woodsville. New Jersey. Cranford High School, Cranford; Academy of the Holy Angels, Demarest; Terence C. Reilly Middle School, Elizabeth; Delsea Regional Middle School, Franklinville; Hoboken Charter School, Hoboken; John F. Kennedy Memorial High School, Iselin; Linden High School, Linden.

Nevada. Opportunity School, Reno. New York. Scotia-Glenville Junior High School, Scotia; W. T. Clarke Middle School, Westbury. Ohio. Russell F. Hobart Middle School, Painesville; Hastings Middle School, Upper Arlington; Jones Middle School, Upper Arlington. Oregon. The Environmental Middle School, Portland; Tillamook Junior High School, Tillamook.

Pennsylvania. Lamberton Middle School, Carlisle; Parkway West Alternative Center for Education, Oakdale; Feinstein High School for Public Service, Providence. South Carolina. D.R. Hill Middle School,Duncan; Britton's Neck High School, Gresham; Pickens Middle School, Pickens; Wren Middle School, Piedmont. Tennessee. Camp Creek School, Greeneville; Harpeth Hall School, Nashville.

Texas. Quest High School, Humble; Weatherford High School, Weatherford. Utah. Box Elder Community High School, Brigham City; Evergreen Junior High, Salt Lake City. Virginia. William E. Waters Middle School, Portsmouth. Wisconsin. River Bluff Middle School, Stoughton. West Virginia. West Virginia Department of Education at Davis Stuart School, Lewisburg; Morgantown High School, Morgantown.

Vol. 19, Issue 38, Page 40

Published in Print: May 31, 2000, as Honors & Awards

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories