People in the News

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints

The Washington-based Council of Chief State School Officers has announced the four finalists for the National Teacher of the Year Award for 2000. The finalists are:

Mitsuye Conover

Mitsuye Conover, 42, an 11th grade social studies teacher at the 850-student Bartlesville High School in Bartlesville, Okla.

Marilyn Whirry

Marilyn Whirry, 65, a 12th grade English/language arts teacher at the 2,150-student Mira Costa High School in Manhattan Beach, Calif.

Margaret Holtschlag

Margaret Holtschlag, 47, a 4th grade teacher at the 380-student Murphy Elementary School in Haslett, Mich.

P. Brett Smith

P. Brett Smith, 37, an elementary music teacher at the 700-student O.H. Anderson Elementary School in Mahtomedi, Minn.

The winner will be announced at a White House ceremony in April.

Susan Miller Barker has been named the associate commissioner for charter schools for the Massachusetts Department of Education.

Ms. Barker, 37, will assist the department in overseeing the state's 34 commonwealth and five Horace Mann charter schools and the start-up of new charter schools.

Shay Bilchik, the administrator of the U.S. Department of Justice's office of juvenile justice and delinquency prevention, will leave his post at the end of February to become the executive director of the Child Welfare League of America, a Washington-based association of more than 1,000 nonprofit child- advocate agencies.

Mr. Bilchik, 46, has been at the Justice Department since 1994.

—Michelle Galley

Send contributions to People in the News, Education Week, 6935 Arlington Road, Suite 100, Bethesda, MD 20814; fax: (301) 280-3200; e-mail: [email protected]. Black-and-white or color photographs are welcome but cannot be returned.

Vol. 19, Issue 20, Page 2

Published in Print: January 26, 2000, as People in the News

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories





Sponsor Insights

Free Ebook: How to Implement a Coding Program in Schools

Successful Intervention Builds Student Success

Effective Ways to Support Students with Dyslexia

Stop cobbling together your EdTech

Integrate Science and ELA with Informational Text

Can self-efficacy impact growth for ELLs?

Disruptive Tech Integration for Meaningful Learning

Building Community for Social Good

5 Resources on the Power of Interoperability from Unified Edtech

New campaign for UN World Teachers Day

5 Game-Changers in Today’s Digital Learning Platforms

Hiding in Plain Sight - 7 Common Signs of Dyslexia in the Classroom

The research: Reading Benchmark Assessments

Shifting Mindsets: A Guide for Training Paraeducators to Think Differently About Challenging Behavior

All Students Are Language Learners: The Imagine Learning Language Advantage™

Shifting Mindsets: A Guide for Training Paraeducators to Think Differently About Challenging Behavior

How to Support All Students with Equitable Pathways

2019 K-12 Digital Content Report

3-D Learning & Assessment for K–5 Science

Climate Change, LGBTQ Issues, Politics & Race: Instructional Materials for Teaching Complex Topics

Closing the Science Achievement Gap

Evidence-based Coaching: Key Driver(s) of Scalable Improvement District-Wide

Advancing Literacy with Large Print

Research Sheds New Light on the Reading Brain

Tips for Supporting English Learners Through Personalized Approaches

Response to Intervention Centered on Student Learning

The Nonnegotiable Attributes of Effective Feedback

SEE MORE Insights >