Honors and Awards

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints


The Association of School Business Officials International, based in Reston, Va., has announced the recipients of the 1999 Eagle Awards. The awards, sponsored by Siemens Technologies, Landis Division, honors school business officials who exemplify service to their communities, schools, and the profession of school business management. The International award winner received a $5,000 college scholarship to present to a high school student. The other recipients each received a $2,500 college scholarship. The winners are:Denny G. Bolton, business administrator, Roberts School District, Pottstown, Pa., is the winner of the International award. Susan Gill, retired business manager, Creswell School District 40, Springfield, Ore., is the Outstanding Service to the Community award winner. Douglas L. Johnson, director of business services, Oconomowoc (Wis.) Area School District, is the Outstanding Service to the School award winner. Craig A. Schilling, assistant superintendent of business affairs, Glenbrook (Ill.) High School District 225, is the "Outstanding Service to the Profession" award winner.


The Leavey Awards recognize educators for innovative techniques in teaching about the free-enterprise system. Presented by the Freedoms Foundation of Valley Forge, Pa., the awards were established in 1977 and are endowed by the Thomas and Dorothy Leavey Foundation of Los Angeles. The award recognizes teachers at the elementary, junior high, high school, and college levels. Each winning program will receive a cash award of $7,500. The winners for 2000 are listed below by state:

California. Alfred Konuwa, Butte College, Oroville; Dan McGeorge, Emerald Middle School, El Cajon. Florida. Rosemary Becker, Tildenville Elementary School, Winter Garden; Deanna Brown, Dundee Elementary School, Dundee. Kentucky. Patricia Bland, Northside Elementary School, Shelbyville; Gary Clayton, Northern Kentucky University, Highland Heights; Kimberly Code and Jack Morgan, University of Louisville; Elaine Littler, Woodland Middle School, Florence; Jan Mester, Kentucky Council on Economic Education, Louisville; Judy Vowels and Betty Maloy, Hazelwood Elementary School, Louisville. Maryland. Diane McCutcheon, Stoneleigh Elementary School, Baltimore; Meghan Lattin Glikin, Mary O'Hara, and Marguerite Forte, Timonium Elementary School, Timonium.

Mississippi. Ellen Gray, Elaine Bridges, and Barbara Benton, Brandon Elementary School, Brandon. Missouri. Robert Wyatt and Charles Taylor, Drury College, Springfield. North Carolina. Roy Cordato, Campbell University, Buies Creek. Pennsylvania. Lynda Bushong and Carol Bright, H.C. Burgard Elementary School, Manheim; Richard Herman, Methacton High School, Fairview Village; Robert Scherrer, Baldwin High School, Pittsburgh. Utah. Gwyn Franson and Shauna Rasmussen, Highland Elementary School, Highland. Wisconsin. Dawn Hunter, Barrie Elementary School, Fort Atkinson; Jim Homan and Matthew Wasmer, Brookfield Academy, Brookfield.


The Association of School Business Officials International in Reston, Va., has announced the recipients of the Pinnacle Awards for 1999. The awards, co-sponsored by the association and the Virco Manufacturing Corp. honor four school business administrators who have greatly improved the efficiency of schools and contributed to the growth and improvement of the profession of school business management. The International Pinnacle of Excellence award winner received a $5,000 cash award; the Pinnacle of Achievement winners each received a $1,000 cash award. The winners are:

Gary Krawchuk, Northern Lights School Division No. 69, Bonneyville, Alberta, Canada, is the International Pinnacle of Excellence award winner. Catherine Fanjoy, Oxford Hills School District, Oxford, Maine; Carol J.Hallberg, Upper Dublin School District, Drescher, Pa.; and David M. Piper, Mount Union (Pa.) Area School District are Pinnacle of Achievement award winners.


Owen Broomes, senior supervisor, Youth Consultation Service, Newark, N.J., has won the Direct Care Worker of the Year Award, presented by the National Association of Private Schools for Exceptional Children. He was honored for his work as a crisis counselor.

Nancy S. Grasmick, Maryland state superintendent of schools, was awarded the President's Award from the National Association of Private Schools for Exceptional Children. The award is presented periodically to a national leader in recognition of his or her efforts to improve the lives of children with disabilities.

Jan Verhage, executive director, Girl Scout Council of the Nation's Capital, Washington, has won the 1999 Golden Links Award, presented by the Greater Washington Board of Trade. Ms. Verhage was honored for her efforts that have led to a 70 percent increase in Girl Scout membership since her tenure began 15 years ago.

Vol. 19, Issue 20, Page 39

Published in Print: January 26, 2000, as Honors and Awards

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories





Sponsor Insights

Free Ebook: How to Implement a Coding Program in Schools

Successful Intervention Builds Student Success

Effective Ways to Support Students with Dyslexia

Stop cobbling together your EdTech

Integrate Science and ELA with Informational Text

Can self-efficacy impact growth for ELLs?

Disruptive Tech Integration for Meaningful Learning

Building Community for Social Good

5 Resources on the Power of Interoperability from Unified Edtech

New campaign for UN World Teachers Day

5 Game-Changers in Today’s Digital Learning Platforms

Hiding in Plain Sight - 7 Common Signs of Dyslexia in the Classroom

The research: Reading Benchmark Assessments

Shifting Mindsets: A Guide for Training Paraeducators to Think Differently About Challenging Behavior

All Students Are Language Learners: The Imagine Learning Language Advantage™

Shifting Mindsets: A Guide for Training Paraeducators to Think Differently About Challenging Behavior

How to Support All Students with Equitable Pathways

2019 K-12 Digital Content Report

3-D Learning & Assessment for K–5 Science

Climate Change, LGBTQ Issues, Politics & Race: Instructional Materials for Teaching Complex Topics

Closing the Science Achievement Gap

Evidence-based Coaching: Key Driver(s) of Scalable Improvement District-Wide

Advancing Literacy with Large Print

Research Sheds New Light on the Reading Brain

Tips for Supporting English Learners Through Personalized Approaches

Response to Intervention Centered on Student Learning

The Nonnegotiable Attributes of Effective Feedback

SEE MORE Insights >