Honors & Awards

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints

Boston U.N. Association Awards

The United Nations Association of Greater Boston recently honored six Massachusetts educators for their contributions to international understanding. They are:

Thomas W. Payzant, superintendent, Boston public schools; Theodore R. Sizer, professor emeritus, Brown University, and chairman, Coalition of Essential Schools; Margot Stern Strom, executive director, Facing History and Ourselves Foundation; Julius Wayne Dudley, professor of history, Salem State College, and founder, the Collaborative Education with South Africans; Susan Graseck, director, Choices for the 21st Century Education Project; and Jean McGuire, executive director, Metropolitan Council for Educational Opportunities.

CCSSO International Ed. Award

The Council of Chief State School Officers has presented its 1999 International Education Award to the District of Columbia Public Schools, for the progress the school district has made in providing international education experiences for its students. The award includes a $10,000 grant to be used for international education programs.

'Coming Up Taller' Awards

The actor William Baldwin, the president of the Creative Coalition, recently presented the Coming Up Taller Awards, recognizing 10 arts and humanities programs that serve at-risk children. The awards are sponsored by the President's Committee on the Arts and Humanities, in partnership with the National Endowment for the Arts. The honorees, who each received $10,000, are:

Angkor Dance Troupe, Lowell, Mass., which sponsors programs about Cambodian culture; Corcoran Art Mentorship Program (CAMP), Washington, DC, in which professional artists mentor high school students; DC WritersCorp, a project of the Humanities Council of Washington; East Bay Center for the Performing Arts, Richmond, Calif., which offers local young people training in traditional and contemporary art forms; El Puente Arts and Cultural Center, Brooklyn, N.Y., a Latino multi-arts and cultural center;

Gallery 37, Chicago, which provides youth employment and training in the visual, performing, and literary arts; Hilltop Artists in Residence, Tacoma, Wash., which offers a glass-blowing program and mentoring to at-risk youths; Mosaic Youth Theatre of Detroit, Detroit, Mich., which provides free theatrical training to area children; Teen Parent Reading Project, Morrisville, Vt., a project of the Vermont Council on the Humanities; and Young Aspirations/Young Artists (YA/YA), New Orleans, which teaches young people to paint in a variety of media.

John Stanford 'Heroes' Awards

U.S. Secretary of Education Richard W. Riley recently presented the second annual John Stanford Education Heroes Awards, named for the late Seattle superintendent and designed to honor those who have an exceptional commitment to improving schools and communities. The honorees are listed below by state.

California. Oral Lee Brown, college mentor, Oakland. Georgia. Wendolyn Norris-Bouie, principal, Gresham Park Elementary School, Atlanta. Illinois. Coretta Leona McFerran, founder, Westside Schools and Communities Organizing for Restructuring and Planning, Chicago. Massachusetts. The Rev. Wesley D. Williams, executive director, United Methodist Urban Services Inc., Boston. Missouri. John Jordan O'Neil, chairman, Negro Leagues Baseball Museum, Kansas City.

New York. Lisa Belzberg, president and founder, Public Education Needs Civic Involvement in Learning, New York City. Pennsylvania. Sandra L. Zelno, child advocate, North Huntingdon. Texas. James Ketelsen, founder, Project GRAD (Graduation Really Achieves Dreams), Houston. Utah. Mary Dorn, volunteer, Monument Valley High School, Monument Valley. Washington. Helen Henderson, Carolyn Patton, and Diane Turner, founders, Federal Way African-American Parent Support Group, Federal Way.

NASBE 1999 Education Awards

The National Association of State Boards of Education recently announced several awards for 1999:

The Martha Holden Jennings Foundation of Cleveland has received the 1999 Friend of Education Award for its grants to improve elementary and secondary education in Ohio and to promote collaboration between five Ohio universities and nearby urban schools.

Gov. Mel Carnahan of Missouri has been named the Policy Leader of the Year for his leadership in improving education.

Mary Helen Berlanga¸ a member of the Texas state board of education; Ethel Hall, the vice president of the Alabama state board of education; and Joe Kelly¸ a former member of the Kentucky state board of education received NASBE's Distinguished Service Awards.

Terrel H. Bell Awards

The National Association of Elementary School Principals, the National Middle School Association, and the National Association of Secondary School Principals have announced the recipients of the Terrel H. Bell Awards for school leadership, part of the Blue Ribbon Schools recognition program. The awards went to the following principals:

Michael Castagnola, Templeton Elementary School, Riverdale, Md.; Frederic Hildenbrand, Vienna Elementary School, Vienna, Md.; Donna E. Lipscomb, Cannons Elementary School, Spartanburg, S.C.; Jean MacInnis, Hillcrest Elementary School, Del Valle, Texas; Ruth Summerlin, Beaufort Elementary School, Beaufort, S.C.; and Robert Villarreal, Eastridge Community Elementary School, Aurora, Colo.

Vol. 19, Issue 15, Page 34

Published in Print: December 8, 1999, as Honors & Awards

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories