Honors & Awards

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints

Gold Medal Awards in Child Care

The Child-Care Professional Gold Medal Awards, sponsored by Scholastic Inc. and Child Care Aware, a nonprofit organization that raises the awareness of the importance of child-care professionals, have been given to five caregivers to recognize their vital role as child-care professionals. Awardees were selected by a panel of nationally recognized early-childhood experts. Each gold medalist will receive more than $3,000 in professional-development products and classroom materials, a computer, and subscriptions to Scholastic, Parent & Child, and Early Childhood Today.

The recipients and their centers are: Mary Chatman, Vogel Alcove, Dallas; Linda Bird-Davies, Universal/Bright Horizons Child Care Center, Los Angeles; Pamela Elliott, Pam's Day Care, Prairie Village, Kan.; Julia Gonzales, Altadena Christian Children's Center, Altadena, Calif.; and Karen Roudybush, Western Pennsylvania School for the Deaf, Pittsburgh.

Meadows Foundation Awards

The 1998 Meadows Foundation Awards for Charitable School Projects, sponsored by the Dallas-based Meadows Foundation were given to more than 100 high schools in Texas for outstanding community service during the past school year. Thirteen of those schools will receive the top prize of $5,000 per school. The 13 schools and their cities are: ACT Academy, McKinney; Bishop Lynch High School, Dallas; Farmers Branch School of Education and Social Services at Townview, Dallas; Irving High School, Irving; Nimitz High School, Irving; North Side High School, Fort Worth; PASS Learning Center, Weatherford; Poteet High School, Mesquite; R.L. Paschal High School, Fort Worth; R.L. Turner High School, Carrollton; Seagoville Alterntive High School, Dallas; Ursuline Academy, Dallas; and West Mesquite High School, Mesquite.

Model Professional-Development Award

The National Awards for Model Professional Development, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, were given to six schools and two districts for having outstanding teacher-development programs. The recipients are: Ganado Intermediate School, Ganado, Ariz.; Geneva City Schools District, Geneva, N.Y.; H.D. Hilley Elementary School, El Paso, Texas; Hungerford School, Staten Island, N.Y.; International High School at LaGuardia College, Long Island City, N.Y.; Lewisville Independent School District, Lewisville, Texas; Montview Elementary School, Aurora, Colo.; and Shallowford Falls Elementary School, Marietta, Ga.

Other Honors and Awards

Gerald Levin, chairman, Time Warner Inc., has received the 1998 Award for Excellence in Corporate Community Service, presented by the Points of Light Foundation. Mr. Levin and Time Warner were recognized for their commitment to the company's literacy program for students, "Time To Read."

Raytheon Co., one of the original corporate sponsors of the Dollars for Scholars program, has received the National Trustees' Award from the Citizens' Scholarship Foundation of America. Raytheon was recognized for its ongoing support of scholarships and programs aimed at preparing students for postsecondary education.

Robert Ulrich, chief executive officer, Target Stores, was the recipient of the 1998 Albert Schweitzer Leadership award, presented by Hugh O'Brien Youth Leadership, a nonprofit organization that provides students the opportunity to meet with distinguished leaders to discuss such topics as education, volunteerism, and community service. Mr. Ulrich was recognized for his company's "Take Charge of Education" initiative.

Vol. 18, Issue 21, Page 39

Published in Print: February 3, 1999, as Honors & Awards

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories